

2020-2021 **OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE** COMMITTEE

CHAD MAHOOD: CHAIR VACANT: VICE CHAIR ELECT CHRIS PACKHAM: SECRETARY OF THE GENERAL FACULTY

CURTIS BREWER: PARLIAMENTARIAN MARY MCNAUGHTON-CASSILL: **SECRETARY**

DREW JOHNSON: CHAIR, ACADEMIC

FREEDOM, EVALUATION AND MERIT

JURGEN ENGELBERTH: CHAIR, GRADUATE COUNCIL

JOHN WALD: CHAIR, BUDGET COMMITTEE MATTHIAS HOFFERBERTH: CHAIR, HOP COMMITTEE

ALEXIS GODET: CHAIR, FS RESEARCH COMMITTEE

ANDREW LLOYD: CHAIR, CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

DIANE ABDO: ADTS REPRESENTATIVE

FOR FULL FACULTY SENATE MINUTES & REPORT, CLICK HERE

> FOR MORE DETAIL. **CONTACT YOUR SENATOR**

The purpose of the newsletter is to communicate updates from the Faculty Senate and to encourage faculty participation in the spirit of shared governance and the success of UTSA students, faculty, and staff.

Leadership Report: Academic Affairs

PROVOST KIMBERLY ESPY & SENIOR VICE PROVOST OF ACADEMIC AFFAIRS HEATHER SHIPLEY

- New faculty title series created to clear career paths for fixed-term faculty.
- Updates from the summer programs
- Welcomed new faculty to campus
- Strategic compensation plan
- Mandatory COVID-19 Testing Program: effective September 13, 2021 for all UTSA students, faculty and staff.
- Discussion on COVID / return to campus refer to Roadrunner Road Map

Where can students find answers to their return to campus questions? Most questions can be answered by visiting the <u>Roadrunner Roadmap</u>

Where should students be referred for questions relating to a reluctance to return due to their health or health of someone in their household? Students should contact UTSA Ombuds Services at (210) 458-4985 or studentombuds@utsa.edu to explore options.

University Leadership Updates

CARLOS MARTINEZ, SR. VP FOR INSTITUTIONAL STRATEGIC PLANNING, COMPLIANCE RISK MANAGEMENT. AND OFFICE OPERATIONS AND CHIEF OF STAFF & JASON HASSAY ASSOCIATE VP FOR STATE RELATIONS

House Bill 1927: effective September 1 QSA

What impact does that have on campuses?

It has little to no effect. The President implemented the policy for concealed carry a few years ago, therefore, there is not much change.

How will it be enforced?

UTSA PD has received training on de-escalation techniques. It is a University Police issue to address.



Chair's Report

CHAD MAHOOD, PH.D.

FACULTY SENATE CHAIR/ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION

- Memo from UT System Faculty Advisory Council (SYSFAC) to Board of Regents (BoR):
 - UT-System institutions should be given wide discretion in implementing pandemic policies
 - Response BoR: campuses should decide for themselves but as state entities they are obligated to comply with state policies (i.e., no mask or vaccine related mandates)
- UTSA President continues to watch local COVID numbers and consult with local health leaders
- Senate Rep needed for Inclusive Excellence Advisory Board
- Updates from the SoGF

Consent Agenda

- Newly appointed Faculty Senate Executive Committee members: APPROVED
- Budget Committee COVID Memo: APPROVED

Outdoor Learning Environments (OLÉ)

When reserving an Outdoor Learning Environment location, you can reconfigure the modular furniture to accommodate your needs. Multiple power outlets, AirRowdy and Bluetooth-enabled audio and visual equipment allow those in the Outdoor Learning Environments to connect their devices in each space.

To reserve, visit the Academic Success <u>District OLÉ webpage</u> or scan the sign with a QR Code outside each location. Simply, take a photo with your smart phones or devices to be connected to instructions about how to reserve the space.



2021-2022 **FACULTY SENATE MEMBERS**

UTSA COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING AND INTEGRATED

- JOHN ALEXANDER, SCHOOL OF ARCHITECTURE & PLANNING AUGUST (GUS) ALLO, FIXED-TERM TRACK REPRESENTATIVE DREW JOHNSON, DEPT. OF CIVIL AND ENVIRONMENTAL
- SANDEEP LANGAR, DEPT. OF CONSTRUCTION SCIENCE AND
- SUE ANN PEMBERTON. SCHOOL OF ARCHITECTURE &
- JEFFREY PREVOST, DEPT. OF ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER
- GABRIELA ROMERO URIBE, BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING AND CHEMICAL ENGINEERING

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

- VICTOR DEOLIVERIA, DEPT. OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCE

- AND STATISTICS
 RICK GRETZ, DEPT. OF MARKETING
 DANIEL HOLLAS, DEPT. OF ECONOMICS
 HUY LE, DEPT. OF MANAGEMENT
 CHARLES LIU, INFORMATION SYSTEMS & CYBER SECURITY
 DENNIS LOPEZ, DEPT. OF ACCOUNTING
 MAHO SONMEZ, FIXED-TERM TENURE TRACK
- JOHN WALD, DEPT. OF FINANCE

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING
• KIRAN BHAGANAGAR, DEPT. OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND HUMAN DEVELOPMENT

- SONYA ALEMAN, DEPT. OF RACE, ETHNICITY, GENDER AND
- CURTIS BREWER, DEPT. OF EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND FELICIA CASTRO-VILLAREAL, DEPT. OF EDUCATIONAL
- BECKY HUANG, DEPT. OF BICULTURAL-BILINGUAL STUDIES RICA RAMIREZ, DEPT. OF INTERDISCIPLINARY LEARNING
- **DEVON ROMERO, DEPT. OF COUNSELING**

- COLLEGE OF LIBERAL AND FINE ARTS
 WHITNEY CHAPPELL, DEPT. OF MODERN LANGUAGES AND
- **BRIAN DAVIES.** DEPT. OF HISTORY
- MARCUS HAMILTON, DEPT. OF ENGLISH
 MARCUS HAMILTON, DEPT. OF ANTHROPOLOGY
 DAVID HANSEN, FIXED-TERM TENURE TRACK
- MATTHIAS HOFFERBERTH, DEPT. OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

- AND GEOGRAPHY
 KIM KLINE, DEPT. OF COMMUNICATION
 S. ANDREW LLOYD, DEPT. OF MUSIC
 HUMBERTO SAENZ, DEPT. OF ART AND ART HISTORY
 JOSH THUROW, DEPT. OF PHILOSOPHY AND CLASSICS

- COLLEGE OF SCIENCESHECTOR AGUILAR, FIXED-TERM TENURE TRACK
- RAJENDRA BOPPANA, DEPT. OF COMPUTER SCIENCE LORENZO BRANCALEON, DEPT. OF PHYSICS AND
- JAMES CHAMBERS, MOLECULAR BIOLOGY AND IMMUNITY

- MIKE DOYLE, DEPT. OF CHEMISTRY
 ALEXIS GODET, DEPT. OF GEOLOGICAL SCIENCES
 DMITRY GOKHMAN, DEPT. OF MATHEMATICS
 BRIAN LAUB, DEPT. OF ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE AND

COLLEGE FOR HEALTH, COMMUNITY AND POLICY

- GINA AMATANGELO, FIXED-TERM TENURE TRAC

- REPRESENTATIVE
 ROGER ENRIQUEZ, DEPT. OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE
 GINNY GARCIA, DEPT. OF SOCIOLOGY
 WILLIAM LAND, DEPT. OF KINESIOLOGY
 MARY MCNAUGHTON-CASSILL, DEPT. OF PSYCHOLOGY
 EMILY NICKLETT, DEPT. OF SOCIAL WORK
 BRANCO PONOMARIOV, DEPT. OF PUBLIC
- ZENONG YIN, DEPT. OF PUBLIC HEALTH RENE ZENTENO, DEPT. OF DEMOGRAPHY

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE
• LAUREN RIOJAS-FITZPATRICK, FIXED-TERM TENURE TRACK

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS

- EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS

 DIANE ABDO, REPRESENTATIVE, ACADEMY OF DISTINGUISHED TEACHING SCHOLARS

 EMILY BONNER, PAST FACULTY SENATE CHAIR

 JURGEN ENGELBERTH, CHAIR, GRADUATE COUNCIL

 CHAD MAHOOD, CHAIR, FACULTY SENATE

 CHRIS PACKHAM, SECRETARY OF THE GENERAL FACULTY