The University of Texas at San Antonio FACULTY SENATE

Chair's Report
René Zenteno, Ph.D.
Faculty Senate Chair
Professor
Department of Demography
September 8th, 2022



WELCOME

- We follow Roberts Rules so please wait to be recognized by the Faculty Senate Chair (or SoGF or lead Administrative Assistant)
- Note: this is an open meeting and people outside UTSA can attend
- Consent Agenda
 - Approval of minutes May 5th, 2022
 - Reports
 - Bachelor's in Social Work
 - B.S. Nutrition and Health with a concentration: 1) Child and Maternal Heath or 2) Nutrition Sustainability & Food Systems
 - FS Priorities
- Welcome guests



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Term Expires	First Name	Last Name	Faculty Senate Committee
Ex-Officio Member	René	Zenteno	Faculty Senate Chair
Ex-Officio Member	Chad	Mahood	Past Faculty Senate Chair
Ex-Officio Member	Chris	Packham	Secretary of the General Faculty
Ex-Officio Member	Corey	Sparks	Graduate Council
Ex-Officio Member	Valerie	Sponsel	ADTS Representation
8/31/25	Curtis	Brewer	Parliamentarian
8/31/23	Mary	McNaughton-Cassill	Secretary
8/31/23	Felicia	Castro-Villarreal	Academic Freedom, Evaluation & Merit (AFEM)
8/31/25	Kirsten	Gardner	Budget Committee
8/31/25	Sonya	Alemán	HOP Committee
8/31/25	Alexis	Godet	Research Committee
8/31/23	Andrew	Lloyd	Curriculum Committee

ACADEMIC FREEDOM, EVALUATION AND MERIT COMMITTEE

	First Name	Last Name	Department	College
1	Hector	Aguilar	Fixed-Term Track Representative	cos
2	Lorenzo	Brancaleon	Physics and Astronomy	cos
3	Felicia	Castro-Villarreal	Educational Psychology	COEHD
4	James	Chambers	Molecular Microbiology and Immunology	cos
5	Ginny	Garcia	Sociology	HCaP
6	Kim	Kline	Communication	COLFA
7	Gabriela	Romero Uribe	Biomedical and Chemical Engineering	KCEID
8	Kerry	Sinanan	English	COLFA
9	Maho	Sonmez	Fixed-term track representative	ACOB
10	Tianou	Zhang	Kinesiology	HCaP

BUDGET COMMITTEE



	First Name	Last Name	Department	College
1	Whitney	Chappell	Modern Languages and Literatures	COLFA
2	Mary	Dixson	Fixed-Term Track Representative	COLFA
3	Kirsten	Gardner	History	COLFA
4	Dmitry	Gokhman	Mathematics	cos
5	Rick	Gretz	Marketing	ACOB
6	Brian	Laub	Integrative Biology	COS
7	Don	Lien	Economics	ACOB
8	Charles	Liu	Information Systems & Cyber Security	ACOB
9	Devon	Romero	Counseling	COEHD
10	Zijun	Wang	Finance	ACOB

COMMITTEE ON HANDBOOK OF OPERATING PROCEDURES



	First Name	Last Name	Department	College
1	Sonya	Alemán	Race, Ethnicity, Gender and Sexuality Studies	COEHD
2	Kiran	Bhaganagar	Mechanical Engineering	KCEID
3	Curtis	Brewer	Educational Leadership & Policy Studies	COEHD
4	Candace	Christensen	Social Work	HCaP
5	Sidury	Christiansen	Bicultural-Bilingual Studies	COEHD
6	Neil	Debbage	Political Science and Geography	COLFA
7	Dennis	Lopez	Accounting	ACOB
8	Sue Ann	Pemberton	School of Architecture and Planning	KCEID
9	Humberto	Saenz	School of Art	COLFA
10	Marie	Tillyer	Criminology and Criminal Justice	HCaP

RESEARCH COMMITTEE



	First Name	Last Name	Department	College
1	Victor	DeOliveira	Management Science and Statistics	ACOB
2	Alexis	Godet	Earth and Planetary Sciences	cos
3	Marcus	Hamilton	Anthropology	COLFA
4	Ying	Huang	Demography	HCaP
5	Drew	Johnson	School of Civil & Environmental Engineering and Construction Management	KCEID
6	Huy	Le	Management	ACOB
7	Richard	LeBaron	Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology	cos
8	John	Quarles	Computer Science	cos
9	Rica	Ramirez	Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching	COEHD
10	Kirk	Schanze	Chemistry	cos

UNIVERSITY CURRICULUM COMMITTEE



	First Name	Last Name	Department	College
1	John	Alexander	School of Architecture and Planning	KCEID
2	August (Gus)	Allo	Fixed-Term Track Representative	KCEID
3	Xun	Chen	Philosophy and Classics	COLFA
4	Zaid	Haddad	Fixed-Term Track Representative	COEHD
5	S. Andrew	Lloyd	School of Music	COLFA
6	Branco	Ponomariov	Public Administration	HCaP
7	Jeffrey	Prevost	Electrical and Computer Engineering	KCEID
8	Lauren	Riojas-Fitzpatrick	Fixed-Term Track Representative	College
9	David	Weber	Fixed-Term Track Representative	HCaP
10	Zenong	Yin	Public Health	HCaP

UPDATES

UTSA LL Faculty Senate

- (1) UT System Faculty Advisory Council 2022-2023
 - October 6-7, 2022
 - January 26-27, 2023
 - April 27-28, 2023
- (2) Next General Meeting (October 13th) will take place at the **UTSA Southwest Campus** followed by a reception hosted by Provost
 Kimberly Espy.
 - Official photo of the Faculty Senate
 - Great opportunity also to tour our new campus and enjoy the Kukuli Velarde exhibit.
 - More information to come
- (3) Updates from the SoGF