## Larry V. McIntire, Ph.D.

Dr. Larry V. McIntire joined the Georgia Institute of Technology and the Emory University School of Medicine in 2003 as the Wallace H. Coulter Professor and Chair of the Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech and Emory University. Dr. McIntire received his BChE and MS degrees from Cornell University in 1966 and his PhD from Princeton University in 1970 -- all in chemical engineering. He joined Rice University in January 1970 as an Assistant Professor. Dr. McIntire served as Chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering from 1982-1989, the E.D. Butcher Professor at Rice from 1982-2003, the founding Chair of the Bioengineering Department there from 1997-2003 and the Chair of the Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering from 1991-2003. He is the author of more than 400 publications and papers in the areas of bioengineering applications in vascular biology, thrombosis, atherosclerosis, and inflammation. Dr. McIntire is also a Founding Fellow and past President of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering. He is past President and Fellow of the Biomedical Engineering Society and past President of the North American Society of Biorheology, and a Fellow of the American Heart Association. Dr. McIntire was the 1992 recipient of the American Institute of Chemical Engineering Food, Pharmaceutical, and Bioengineering Division Award, Chair of that Division in 1998, elected a Fellow of that Institute in 1994, the 1992 ALZA Distinguished Lecturer for the Biomedical Engineering Society, Sigma Xi National lecturer for 1993-95 and in 1998, he was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. In 2001, Dr. McIntire was elected to the National Academy of Engineering and was appointed Editor-in-Chief of the Annals of Biomedical Engineering (the journal of the Biomedical Engineering Society), effective January 2002 - December, 2009. Additionally, Dr. McIntire is also the 2003 recipient of the Biomedical Engineering Society Distinguished Service Award and Presidential Award and of the 2009 Distinguished Service Award.