Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Faculty

Janis K. Bush

Associate Professor
Director of ES Academic Programs

Phone: (210) 458-5660
Email: janis.bush@utsa.edu

 

- PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTEP
- MS Biology, UTSA
- BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught:
Conservation Biology • Environmental Statistics • Scientific Writing

Stephanie Elliott

Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-5652
Email: stephanie.elliott@utsa.edu
 

 

- MS Biology, UTSA
- BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught:
Biology of Flowering Plants • Environmental Ecology • Woody Plants

Afamia El-Nakat

Associate Professor of Practice

Phone: (210) 458-5742
Email: afamia.elnakat@utsa.edu
 

 

- PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTEP
- MS Environmental Science, UTSA
- BS Environmental Science, Incarnate Word University

Courses Taught:
Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology • Environmental Remediation •

Karen Engates

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: karen.engates@utsa.edu
 

 

- PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTSA
- MS Environmental Science, TCU
- BS Environmental Science, TCU

Courses Taught:
Applied Ecology • Global Change

Julie Foote

Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: julie.foote@utsa.edu
 

 

- PhD Ecosystem Science & Management, Texas A&M University
- MS Environmental Science, UTSA
- BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught:
Environmental Microbiology • Environmental Statistics • Environmental Systems I • Introduction to Soils • Soil Chemistry

Jason Gagliardi

Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: jason.gagliardi@utsa.edu
 

 

- MS Environmental Science, UTSA
- BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught:
Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology Lab • Environmental Ecology Lab • Environmental Remediation Lab • Environmental Statistics • Environmental Systems I • Environmental Systems II Lab

Matthew Grunstra

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-7880
Email: matthew.grunstra@utsa.edu
 

 

- PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTSA
- MS Environmental Science, UTSA

Courses Taught:
Environmental Geology • Environmental Systems II • Fundamentals of Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Jeffrey Jackson

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-7880
Email: jeffrey.jackson@utsa.edu
 

 

- MS Biology, UTSA
- BS Wildlife & Fisheries, Texas A&M University

Courses Taught:
Environmental Zoology

Vonnie Jackson

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-8268
Email: vonnie.jackson@utsa.edu
 

 

- MS Biology, UTSA
- BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught:
Environmental Botany • Environmental Botany Lab • Environmental Zoology Lab

Fernando Martinez

Lecturer III
Co-Director, Recruitment and Diversity

Phone: (210) 458-8163
Email: fernando.martinez@utsa.edu

 

- PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTSA
- MS Environmental Science, UTSA
- BS Animal Sciences, Angelo State

Courses Taught:
Conservation Biology • Environmental Assessment • Environmental Botany Lab • Environmental Systems I • Environmental Zoology Lab • Herpetology • Wildlife Biology

Terri Matiella

Lecturer III
Co-Director, ES Core Curriculum & Assessment

Phone: (210) 458-8268
Email: terri.matiella@utsa.edu

 

- PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTSA
- MS Environmental Science, UTSA
- BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught:
Environmental Systems I • Survey Topics in Environmental Sciences

Robert Thompson

Senior Lecturer

 

 
Email: robert.thompson@utsa.edu
 

- JD Law
- MA Aerospace Engineering, University of Southern California
- BS Engineering Mechanics, Oklahoma State University

Courses Taught:
Advanced Environmental Law • Environmental Law

Oscar Van Auken

Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5489
Email: oscar.vanauken@utsa.edu
 

 

- PhD Physiology, University of Utah
- MS Zoology, University of Utah
- BS Biology, High Point College

Courses Taught:
Environmental Science Colloquium • SP: Ecological Succession • Woody Plants