Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Faculty

Janis K. Bush

Associate Professor
Director of ES Academic Programs

Phone: (210) 458-5660
Email: janis.bush@utsa.edu

 

PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTEP
MS Biology, UTSA
BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught: Environmental Statistics, Conservation Biology
 
 

Stephanie Elliott

Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-5652
Email: stephanie.elliott@utsa.edu

 

 

MS Biology, UTSA
BS Biology, UTSA

 

 

Courses Taught: Environmental Ecology, Biology of Flowering Plants, Woody Plants
 

Afamia El-Nakat

Associate Professor of Practice

Phone: (210) 458-5742
Email: afamia.elnakat@utsa.edu

 

 

PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTEP
MS Environmental Science, UTSA
BS Environmental Science, Incarnate Word University

Courses Taught: Environmental Remediation, Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology
 

Karen Engates

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-4455
Email: karen.engates@utsa.edu

 

 

PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTSA
MS Environmental Science, TCU
BS Environmental Science, TCU

Courses Taught: Applied Ecology, Global Change
 
 

Julie Foote

Lecturer III

 

Email: julie.foote@utsa.edu

 

 

PhD Ecosystem Science & Management, Texas A&M University
MS Environmental Science, UTSA
BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught: Environmental Systems I, Environmental Microbiology, Introduction to Soils, Soil Chemistry, Environmental Statistics

Jason Gagliardi

Lecturer I

 

Email: jason.gagliardi@utsa.edu

 

 

MS Environmental Science, UTSA
BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught: Laboratories (Remediation, Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology, Environmental Ecology, Environmental Systems II)

Matthew Grunstra

Senior Lecturer

 

Email: matthew.grunstra@utsa.edu

 

 

PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTSA
MS Environmental Science, UTSA

Courses Taught: Environmental Systems II, Environmental
Geology
 

Jeffrey Jackson

Lecturer II

 

Email: jeffrey.jackson@utsa.edu

 

 

MS Biology, UTSA
BS Wildlife & Fisheries, Texas A&M University

Courses Taught:  
 
 

Vonnie Jackson4

Lecturer II

 

Email: vonnie.jackson@utsa.edu

 

 

MS Biology, UTSA
BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught: Environmental Botany
 
 

Fernando Martinez4

Lecturer III
Co-Director, Recruitment and Diversity

Phone: (210) 458-8163
Email: fernando.martinez@utsa.edu

 

PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTSA
MS Environmental Science, UTSA
BS Animal Sciences, Angelo State

Courses Taught: Environmental Systems I, Conservation Biology, Herpetology, Environmental Assessment, Wildlife Biology
 

Terri Matiella

Lecturer III
Co-Director, ES Core Curriculum & Assessment

Phone: (210) 458-8268
Email: terri.matiella@utsa.edu

 

PhD Environmental Science and Engineering, UTSA
MS Environmental Science, UTSA
BS Biology, UTSA

Courses Taught: Environmental Systems I
 
 

Robert Thompson

Senior Lecturer

 

 

 

 

JD Law
MA Aerospace Engineering, University of Southern California
BS Engineering Mechanics, Oklahoma State University

Courses Taught: Environmental Law, Advanced Environmental
Law
 

Oscar Van Auken

Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5489
Email: oscar.vanauken@utsa.edu

 

 

PhD Physiology, University of Utah
MS Zoology, University of Utah
BS Biology, High Point College

Courses Taught: Environmental Science Colloquium, SP: Ecological Succession, Woody Plants