Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Faculty

Professor Emeritus

 

Jessica Beckham

Lecturer II

Office: FLN 1.01.02C
Phone: (210) 458-8982
Email: jessica.beckham@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Conservation biology
» Entomology
» Geographic Information Systems

Janis Bush

Professor and Department Chair

Office: FLN 4.02.28
Phone: (210) 458-5660
Email: janis.bush@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Conservation biology
» Environmental statistics

Afamia Elnakat

Associate Professor of Practice


Phone: (210) 458-5742
Email: afamia.elnakat@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Environmental chemistry and toxicology
» Environmental remediation
» Fate and transports of chemicals

Matthew Fischer

Lecturer I

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: matthew.fischer@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Environmental systems
» Environmental zoology
» Ichthyology

Julie Foote

Lecturer III

Office: MB 2.440
Phone: (210) 458-8605
Email: julie.foote.utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Conservation biology
» Environmental microbiology
» Environmental statistics
» Restoration ecology
» Soil biogeochemistry

Jason Gagliardi

Lecturer I

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: jason.gagliardi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Environmental chemistry and toxicology
» Environmental ecology
» Environmental remediation
» Environmental statistics
» Environmental systems

Stephanie Gdovin

Lecturer III

Office: FLN 4.02.54B
Phone: (210) 458-5652
Email: stephanie.gdovin@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Desert biology
» Environmental ecology
» Flowering plants
» Woody plants

Matthew Grunstra

Senior Lecturer

Office: FLN 1.01.02C
Phone: (210) 458-5103
Email: matthew.grunstra@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Environmental geology
» Environmental systems
» Geographic Information Systems

Scott Harris

Lecturer II

Office:
Phone: (210) 458-7325
Email: kenneth.harris2@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Disaster and emergency management
» Environmental disasters
» Topics in environmental science

Jeffrey Hutchinson

Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.56
Phone: (210) 458-5396
Email: jeffrey.hutchinson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Freshwater ecology
» Natural resource policy and administration

Jeffrey Jackson

Lecturer II and Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Office: FLN 1.01.02A
Phone: (210) 458-7880
Email: jeffrey.jackson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Desert biology
» Environmental zoology
» Field biology
» Ichthyology

Vonnie Jackson

Lecturer II

Office: FLN 4.02.32
Phone: (210) 458-8268
Email: vonnie.jackson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Environmental botany
» Environmental zoology

John C. Kinsey

Lecturer I

Office: FLN 1.05.04
Phone: (210) 458-5041
Email: john.kinsey@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Feral swine ecology and management
» Field ecology
» Wildlife biology

E. Conrad Lamon III

Lecturer II

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: conrad.lamon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Experimental design and analysis

Brian Laub

Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.36
Phone: (210) 458-5124
Email: brian.laub@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Fisheries
» Freshwater ecology
» River restoration
» Watershed processes

Victoria Makar

Lecturer I

Office: FLN 1.05.04
Phone: (210) 458-5041
Email: victoria.makar@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Exploratory pathways
» Life and health sciences pathways
» Zoology and academic inquiry

Fernando Martinez

Lecturer III and Co-Director of Recruitment and Diversity

Office: MB 2.430
Phone: (210) 458-8163
Email: fernando.martinez@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Conservation biology
» Environmental assessment
» Environmental botany
» Environmental systems
» Herpetology
» Wildlife biology

Terri Matiella

Lecturer III and Co-Director of ES Core Curriculum & Assessment

Office: FLN 4.02.32
Phone: (210) 458-8268
Email: terri.matiella@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Environmental systems
» Survey topics

Kareem Mattis

Lecturer I

Office: FLN 4.02.54B
Phone: (210) 458-5652
Email: kareem.mattis@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Academic inquiry and scholarship, natural science pathway
» Intro to Environmental Science I Lab
» Principles of Evology Lab

Naomi Rubal

Lecturer I

Office: MS 1.02.06C78
Phone: (210) 458-5957
Email: naomi.rubal@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Applied inquiry and scholarship for the life and health sciences

Robert Thompson

Senior Lecturer



Email: robert.thompson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Environmental law

Thomas Willmott

Lecturer I

Office: FLN 4.02.54B
Phone: (210) 458-5652
Email: thomas.willmott@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

Gwen Young

Lecturer II

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: gwen.young@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Conservation biology
» Environmental systems
» Survey topics
» Technical writing

 

Professor Emeritus

Oscar Van Auken

Professor Emeritus

Office: FLN 3.01.08
Phone: (210) 458-5489
Email: oscar.vanauken@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Physiological plant ecology
» Woody plants