Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Minnie Stevens Piper Award

The Piper Professor Award was established by the San Antonio–based Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation in 1958 to annually recognize outstanding college professors across Texas. Selection is made on the basis of nominations; each two and four-year college and university in the state may submit only one nominee annually.

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation will honor 10 professors during the 2013–2014 academic year for their dedication to the teaching profession and for their outstanding academic, scientific and scholarly achievement. Each Piper Professor receives a certificate of merit, a gold pin and a $5,000 honorarium.

Tentative Timeline 2013-2014

Sept. 9, 2013 Call for nominations sent to Deans with an attached timeline and Piper Nomination form (shortened).
Sept. 18 Formation of Piper Professor Nominee Selection Committee composed of former teaching award recipients.
Oct. 10 Deadline for submission of nomination packets
Each Dean’s Office should submit their nominee’s completed portfolio to Dr. Nancy Martin via email ( Completed nomination packets will consist of:
(1) Completed nomination form including the applicant’s class schedule, indicating dates not suitable for classroom observations (e.g.: exams, guest lecturers, etc) as well as other information such as the nominee’s “STATEMENT OF PURPOSE: Why are you teaching?”
(2) Current semester’s course syllabi
(3) Nominee’s shortened CV highlighting information not already featured in the application form
(4) The names of five people willing to submit letters of recommendation no later than November 18, 2013, if the applicant is selected as UTSA’s nominee. (We encourage all nominees to identify and contact their five references and inform them of the possible need for letters and the timeline. However, there is no need to submit letters at this time. Letters may be from members of the administration, the nominee’s colleagues, and/or from current or former students.)
Oct. 11 TLC will review the Piper Nomination Form materials, identify any missing items and contact nominees as needed.
Oct. 14-30 Syllabi reviewed and classroom observations scheduled and conducted by trained observers. Nominees may request additional observations to bolster their nomination portfolios.
Nov. 4-7 Selection Committee meets to determine the UTSA nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper Award.
Nov. 8 UTSA nominee is informed of nomination.
Nov. 8-18 The nominee’s packet is finalized by completing the full application form, adding a maximum of five letters of recommendation and all observation rubrics. The observation rubrics will be included as appendices in the nomination packet.
Nov. 20 The packet for UTSA’s nominee is forwarded to the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation.


Past UTSA Recipients

2013Aaron Cassill, Ph.D., Professor of Biology
2012John Miller Morris, Ph.D., Professor of Geography
2003Felix D. Almaraz, Jr., Ph.D., Professor of History
2001Judith Gorman Gardner, M.S., Lecturer III and Coordinator of Composition
1997David Michael Senseman, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Life Sciences
1994Richard Lee Utech, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Marketing
1990Richard A. Gambitta, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Political Science
1986M. Neal Guentzel, Ph.D., Professor of Life Sciences
1982Marian L. Martinello, Ed.D., Associate Professor, Division of Education