Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Quantitative Literacy Faculty Excellence Award

Quantitative literacy is understanding, analyzing, and communicating numerical data that are naturally present in various disciplines. Well-developed quantitative literacy skills will help college graduates compete and thrive in global job markets and adapt to fast changing career paths. These skills have become critical in order for graduates to be successful in the data rich environments emphasized in all fields of study.

In Fall 2011, UTSA launched the Quantitative Literacy Program to address this critical need. More than 27 courses have been redesigned as Q-courses to incorporate quantitative literacy methods and learning activities, and have been taught by more than 130 tenured, tenure-track and non-tenure-track faculty.  These redesigned Q-courses emphasize data analysis that is discipline specific, providing a deeper and contextual learning opportunity for students. In addition students develop writing skills that emphasize the use of data and analyses. The purpose of the Quantitative Literacy Faculty Excellence Award is to recognize the important teaching contributions made by faculty who teach Q-courses.

For 2016, one award will be given to a faculty member who taught Q-courses in 2014-15. The Quantitative Literacy Program Executive Committee will review the applications and select the award recipient who will also receive a one-time award of $2,000. The recipient will also be recognized at the University Excellence Awards Ceremony.

Purpose of award

This award is to recognize, encourage and reward faculty for excellence in teaching courses enhanced with quantitative literacy (Q-courses).

Submission process

The faculty who taught Q-courses in Fall 2014, Spring 2015, and/or Fall 2015 semesters are eligible to apply for award. The application form is available here.


February 5, 2016:
Deadline for Faculty to submit self-statement and materials

March 4, 2016:
QLP Executive Committee selects the award recipient.

March 21-31, 2016:
Award recipient is notified.

April 14, 2016:
University Excellence Awards Ceremony


Past Recipients

2016  Dixie Shaw-Tillmon, University College

2015  Bryan Gervais, Liberal and Fine Arts

2014  Jennifer Dilley, Liberal and Fine Arts