Minnie Stevens Piper Teaching Award

Purpose of Award

The Piper Professor Award was established by the San Antonio–based Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation in 1958 to annually recognize outstanding college professors across Texas. Selection is made on the basis of nominations; each two and four-year college and university in the state may submit only one nominee annually.

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation will honor 10 professors during the 2017–2018 academic year for their dedication to the teaching profession and for their outstanding academic, scientific and scholarly achievement. Each Piper Professor receives a certificate of merit, a gold pin and a $5,000 honorarium.

Timeline 2017–2018

Wednesday, Sept 13, 2017
Call for nominations sent to Deans with an attached timeline and Piper Nomination form (shortened).

Friday, Sept 15, 2017
Formation of Piper Professor Nominee Selection Committee composed of former teaching award recipients.

Friday, October 6, 2017
Deadline for submission of nomination packets

Each Dean’s Office should submit their nominee’s completed portfolio via email facultyawards@utsa.edu. Completed nomination packets will consist of:

(1) Completed nomination form including other information such as the nominee’s “STATEMENT OF PURPOSE: Why are you teaching?”

(2) Current semester’s course syllabi

(3) Nominee’s shortened CV highlighting information not already featured in the application form

(4) The names of five people willing to submit letters of recommendation no later than Monday, November 13, 2017, if the applicant is selected as UTSA’s nominee.

(We encourage all nominees to identify and contact their five references and inform them of the possible need for letters and the timeline. However, there is no need to submit letters at this time. Letters may be from members of the administration, the nominee’s colleagues, and/or from current or former students.)

Monday, Oct. 16 - Thursday, Oct. 19, 2017
Selection Committee meets to determine the UTSA nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper Award.

Friday, Oct. 20, 2017
UTSA nominee is informed of nomination.

Friday, Oct. 20 - Friday, Nov. 3
The nominee’s packet is finalized by completing the full application form, adding a maximum of five letters of recommendation and all observation rubrics. The observation rubrics will be included as appendices in the nomination packet.

Thursday, November 16
The packet for UTSA’s nominee is delivered to the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation.

May 1, 2018
Piper Foundation announces winners.


Past Recipients

  • Mary McNaughton-Cassill, Ph.D. | Professor of Psychology | 2017
  • Aaron Cassill, Ph.D. | Professor of Biology | 2013
  • John Miller Morris, Ph.D. | Professor of Geography | 2012
  • Felix D. Almaraz, Jr., Ph.D, | Professor of History | 2003
  • Judith Gorman Gardner, M.S. | Lecturer III and Coordinator of Composition | 2001
  • David Michael Senseman, Ph.D. | Associate Professor of Life Sciences | 1997
  • Richard Lee Utecht, Ph.D. | Assistant Professor of Marketing | 1994
  • Richard A. Gambitta, Ph.D. | Associate Professor of Political Science | 1990
  • M. Neal Guentzel, Ph.D. | Professor of Life Sciences | 1986
  • Marian L. Martinello, Ed.D. | Associate Professor, Division of Education | 1982