Any UTSA student enrolled in at least half-time credit hours is eligible to apply. You do not have to be a financial aid recipient in order to apply. You must not have a prior semester Fiscal Services balance or any type of financial hold (parking fine, library fine, etc.).
Important Note: Due to the increased Book Loan amount of $500.00, students are limited to only ONE Book Loan per academic term.
Students must be registered at least half-time to be eligible for a book loan. In fall and spring, half-time is 6 hours for undergraduates and 4 hours for graduates. In summer term, half-time enrollment for undergraduates is 6 credit hours and for graduates is 3 credit hours.
Because summer has multiple terms, students need to be currently enrolled for the summer term that you are requesting a book loan for and be at least half-time for the entire summer. For example, undergraduate students need to be enrolled in at least one 3-credit mini-semester class and another 3-credit class in a different summer term to be considered half-time and eligible to request a book loan for the mini-semester.
Summer 2013 Book Loan Dates:
Minimester: Thursday, May 9, 2013 beginning at 8am.
Summer I: Thursday, May 30, 2013 beginning at 8am.
Summer II: Tuesday, July 9, 2013 beginning at 8am.
Book loans will be available at both campuses
These loans are issued on a first-come first-serve basis starting on the dates indicated below, until funds are exhausted. The book loan is not available through ASAP.
What will I need to apply?
- You must be registered at least half-time
- You must have a photo ID
- Complete name, address, and telephone number information for three references: one parent (or another relative if both parents are deceased), one relative, one non-relative; spouse, if applicable, spouse’s employer, if applicable, and your employer, if applicable. Important: Three references provided must have different addresses. You will use this information to fill out the book loan worksheet prior to being granted a book loan.
The book loan accrues interest at 5% annually and is typically due:
April 30 for spring loans
July 31 for summer loans
November 30 for fall loans
Late payments are assessed a $10 late fee and a hold will be placed on the student's record. Complete information regarding due dates and late fees are detailed in your Master Promissory Note.
- Plan ahead for repayment
- Loan Repayment Options
- Loan Forgiveness options for Teachers
- Loan Forgiveness for Public Service
Resources to Assist Borrower
- Accessing your Federal Student Loan Information
- Glossary of Common Loan Terms
- Your Federal Student Loans
Resources for Delinquency & Default
- Consequences of Default
- Facing Student Loan Default
- Default FAQ
- Why you shouldn’t avoid the problem
- Trouble making payments
- Who you can contact
- Income Based Repayment Calculator
- Standard, Extended and Graduated Calculator
- Loan Consolidation
- Debt/Salary Wizard
Loan Helpful Links
- Direct Loan Servicing
- Texas Guaranteed Student Loan (TG)
- Texas Employment Outlook
- Contact Us
- Financial Aid Home