Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content
Show/Hide University Links

Hazlewood Legacy Program

What is the Hazlewood Legacy Program
Veteran Eligibility Requirements
Student Eligibility Requirements
Required Documentation for First-Time Applicants
Required Documentation for Renewal Applicants
Transferring to Another Child

What is the Hazlewood Legacy Program

Under the Hazlewood Legacy Program, qualifying veterans may assign unused hours of their Hazlewood exemption to a dependent child under certain conditions. In addition to the veteran meeting specific requirements, there are also requirements that must be met by the student.

Back to top

Veteran Eligiblity Requirements

The following are requirements a veteran must meet to be considered a qualifying veteran:

  • At the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces, designated Texas as Home of Record, entered the service in Texas, or was a Texas resident
  • Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training)
  • Received an honorable discharge or a general discharge under honorable conditions
  • Have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veteran’s education benefits dedicated to payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits
  • Cannot be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas
  • Veterans who are granted their first Hazlewood Act exemption beginning Fall 2011 must reside in Texas during the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed. This requirement does not apply to the Veterans who either received the exemption prior to the 2011-2012 academic year, have reenlisted into active duty, or reside with a spouse who is on active duty

Back to top

Student Eligibility Requirements

The following are requirements a student must meet to have Hazlewood transferred to them:

  • Be a Texas resident
  • Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year
  • Be 25 years or younger on the first day of the semester for which the exemption is claimed
  • Make satisfactory academic progress (SAP) in a degree, certificate, or continuing education program as determined by the institution and meet the new Academic Requirements effective Fall 2014
      • GPA of 2.0 for undergraduates; GPA of 3.0 for graduates
      • Complete 67% of all attempted credit hours
      • Cannot “excessively exceed” hours required for degree – Undergraduate Credit Limitation (Begins Fall 2014)
      • Attempted hours cannot exceed 150% of total credit hours required for your degree
  • Have no federal Veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal Veteran’s education benefits dedicated to payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits
  • Cannot be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas
  • If you are a male, you must be registered for Selective Service

Back to top

Required Documentation for First-Time Applicants

First time applicants must submit the items below by the Census date for the first term of the academic year in which the student is applying for the exemption. If the student wants to use the exemption other terms within that year, the student will simply make their request on the HE-D and HE-V application or notify SFAES. The following is the initial documentation that is required:

  • Hazlewood Statement of Understanding
  • HE-V Application
  • HE-D Application
  • DD214 must indicate Place of Entry, Home of Record, Character of Service and Active Duty days
  • Proof of Dependency – birth certificate, tax return for current or previous tax year, adoption papers, etc)
  • If the veteran was discharged after 8/1/2009, submit proof of ineligibility or exhaustion of GI/Montgomery benefits (Chapter 31 and/or Chapter 33 Post 9/11) by requesting an education benefits letter from one of the following:
  • Hazlewood Database Hours for veteran (submit even if hours are zero)
  • Hazlewood Database Hours for student (submit even if hours are zero)
  • If you are a male who has not submitted a FAFSA, please submit proof of having registered for Selective Service. If you have not registered, you can register at www.sss.gov
    • Note: In submitting a FAFSA, the Department of Education notifies us of your selective service status. For this reason only males who have NOT submitted a FAFSA must submit documentation

Back to top

Required Documentation for Renewal Applicants

After initially receiving the Hazlewood Exemption, applicants must submit renewal documentation by the Census date for the first term of the academic year in which the student is applying for the exemption. If the student wants to use the exemption other terms within that year, the student will simply make their request on the HE-D application or notify SFAES. The following is the renewal documentation that is required:

Back to top

Transferring to Another Child

Hazlewood Legacy can only be given to one child at a time. If a veteran wishes to transfer Legacy benefits from one child to another, in addition to all other required documentation, the veteran must also write a letter including the following:

  • A sentence revoking access to the child previously receiving benefits (include the name of the child and their ID number)
  • A sentence granting access to a new child (name and ID number required)

Back to top