The University of Texas at San Antonio

The Department of Geological Sciences at The University of Texas at San Antonio has a wide range of research programs central to the earth sciences. These include hydrogeology (water resources, aqueous geochemistry), geobiology (paleontology and geomicrobiology), geoinformatics (geospatial analysis, GIS, remote sensing), petroleum geology and paleontolog, and land dynamics (geomorphology, environmental geology, sedimentology).

The mission of the Department of Geological Sciences is committed to advancing scientific knowledge in geological sciences through collaborative and inter-disciplinary research at local, national and international levels. The Department seeks to provide quality educational opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students, especially for individuals from historically underrepresented and disadvantaged groups and for full-time working professionals...More


New Graduate Program Announcement 

Read here UTSA's news release regarding our approved Masters of Science degree in Geoinformatics to start Fall 2017. More information to follow.

Faculty Position Announcement 

Read here

       About our Department        Faculty Interviews on Research

         QUICK LINKS


Department of Geological Sciences
Flawn Building (FLN) 4.02.08

One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, Texas 78249-0663

Phone: (210) 458-4455
Fax: (210) 458-4469

UTSA © The University of Texas at San Antonio | One UTSA Circle, San Antonio TX 78249 | Information: 210-458-4011 | UTSA Police: 210-458-4242