Faculty


Emeritus  |  Affiliated  |  Visiting

Stephen Ackley
Stephen Ackley
Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6793
Email: Stephen.Ackley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Antarctic Sea Ice
  • Sea Ice Specialist
Matt Cannon
John (Matt) Cannon, Ph.D.
Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-8596
Email: John.Cannon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Structural Geology
  • Tectonic Geomorphology
Saugata Datta
Saugata Datta, Ph.D.
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4752
Email: Saugata.Datta@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Chemical Hydrogeology
  • Low Temperature Geochemistry
Yongli Gao
Yongli Gao, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7029
Email: Yongli.Gao@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Geology
  • Hydrogeology
Alexis Godet
Alexis Godet, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4782
Email: Alexis.Godet@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Sedimentology
  • Stratigraphy
Walter Gray
Walter Gray, Ph.D.
Distinguished Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5751
Email: Walter.Gray@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Mineralogy/Petrology
  • Plate Tectonics
Judy Haschenburger
Judy Haschenburger, Ph.D.
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4553
Email: Judy.Haschenburger@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Geomorphology
  • Sediment Transport Processes
Jaime Hincapie
Jaime Hincapie, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5444
Email: Jaime.Hincapie@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Artificial Intelligence in Geosciences
  • Computational Geoscience
  • Near Surface Geophysics
Carter Keairns
Carter Keairns, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-4455
Email: Carter.Kearins@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Field Geology
  • Petroleum Geology
Lance Lambert
Lance Lambert, Ph.D.
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5441
Email: Lance.Lambert@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Carbonate Petrology
  • Paleontology
  • Petroleum Geology
  • Stratigraphy
Newfel Mazari
Newfel Mazari, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-8161
Email: Newfel.Mazari@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • GIS/Remote Sensing
  • Third Planet
Alberto Mestas-Nunez
Alberto Mestas-Nunez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-6690
Email: Alberto.Mestas@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Physical Oceanography
  • Remote Sensing
Jeffrey Neathery
Jeffrey Neathery
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-4455
Email: Jeffrey.Neathery@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Engineering Geology
Jacquelyn Scherer
Jacquelyn A. Scherer, Ph.D.
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-6119
Email: Jacquelyn.Scherer@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Geochemistry
  • Paleobotany, Paleoclimate, and Paleoecology
Janet Vote
Janet Vote
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-5778
Email: Janet.Vote@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Earth History
  • Paleontology
  • Physical Geology
Blake Weissling
Blake Weissling, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-8128
Email: Blake.Weissling@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Cryosphere
  • Remote Sensing
  • Surface Water Hydrology
Alan Whittington
Alan Whittington, Ph.D.
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5458
Email: Alan.Whittington@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Petrology
  • Planetary Geology
  • Volcanology
Hongjie Xie
Hongjie Xie, Ph.D.
Professor and Interim Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5445
Email: Hongjie.Xie@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Polar and Climate Science
  • Remote Sensing, Geoinformatics
  • Surface Water and Hydrology

Emeritus

Stuart Birnbaum
Stuart Birnbaum, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5449
Email: Stuart.Birnbaum@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Geomicrobiology
Alan Dutton
Alan Dutton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5746
Email: Alan.Dutton@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Hydrogeology
Weldon Hammond
Weldon Hammond, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5471
Email: Weldon.Hammond@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Hydrogeology
no photo available
Robert Smith, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-4553
Email: Robert.Smith1@utsa.edu

Eric Swanson
Eric Swanson, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Email: Eric.Swanson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Volcanic Stratigraphy
  • Volcanism

Affiliated

Marina Suarez
Marina Suarez, Ph.D.

University of Kansas
mb.suarez@ku.edu

Visiting Scholars

Zhiwei Wang, Ph.D. - Visiting Researcher from China