Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Standing Committees

International Oversight Committee (IOC)

The charge of the International Oversight Committee is to

1. decide whether or not to suspend university programs or study-abroad opportunities offered by the university in countries in which a significant health or safety and export control concerns have been raised; and

2. determine, on a case-by-case basis, whether or not to grant an exemption due to special circumstances to its decision to suspend opportunities in a given country (e.g., the concern that triggered the suspension decision is confined to a specific area far from the program site).

Structure: 8+ members

Senior Faculty or Deans with significant international experience
Director of Risk Management (Ex Officio)
General Counsel or Senior Legal Affairs staff (Ex Officio)
Senior Health Affairs/Medical staff (especially where health concerns are central)
Senior Academic Affairs/Dean of Students staff
Senior Public Affairs staff
Chief International Officer
Director of Education Abroad Services (non-voting, Ex Officio)


Betty Merchant Professor, Educational Leadership & Policy Studies
John Murphy Dean, CACP
Arturo Ayon Professor, Astronomy
Mansour El-Kikhia Professor, Political Science & Geography
John DeLaHunt Risk and Life Safety Manager
Michelle Stevenson Assistant VP for Research Integrity
Gail Jensen Chief Legal Officer
Kevin Price Associate VP for Student Life & Dean of Students
Beth Wichman Associate VP for Student Services
Joe Izbrand Associate VP for Communications
Rene Zenteno, Chair Vice Provost for International Initiatives
Lisa Marie Gomez Executive Director for International Programs
Brandon Lanners Director, Education Abroad Office
Robert McKinley Assistant VP for Institutional Economic Development

Last updated 8/4/2016