Tenure/Tenure Track

Arturo Ayón
Arturo Ayón, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: MEMS 1.100
Phone: (210) 458-7245
Email: arturo.ayon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Materials science of thin films
» Metamaterials
» Microdevices
» Photovoltaics
» Sensors

Lorenzo Brancaleon
Lorenzo Brancaleon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.378
Phone: (210) 458-5694
Email: lorenzo.brancaleon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Molecular biophysics
» Optical spectroscopy
» Photophysics

Andrey Chabanov
Andrey Chabanov, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.356
Phone: (210) 458-6426
Email: andrey.chabanov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Advanced photonic materials
» Wave phenomena in periodic and random media

Chonglin Chen
Chonglin Chen, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.354
Phone: (210) 458-6427
Email: chonglin.chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Electronic thin films & heterostructures
» Energy materials & catalysis
» Smart materials & control systems
» Surface and interface

Liao Chen
Liao Chen, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.396
Phone: (210) 458-5457
Email: liao.chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biophysics
» Theoretical and computational physics

Miguel José-Yacamán
Miguel José-Yacamán, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.205C
Phone: (210) 458-6954
Email: miguel.yacaman@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Catalysis and diffraction
» Electron microscopy
» Nanoparticles
» Nanotechnology
» Physics of materials

Zlatko Koinov
Zlatko Koinov, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.388
Phone: (210) 458-5446
Email: zlatko.koinov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bose-Einstein condensation
» Magnetooptics
» Nanophysics
» Strongly correlated systems

Nicolas Large
Nicolas Large, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: AET 3.392
Phone: (210) 458-8279
Email: nicolas.large@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Condensed matter theory
» Nanophotonics
» Plasmonics
» Physics of materials and nanostructures

Xóchitl López-Lozano
Xóchitl López-Lozano, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.380
Phone: (210) 458-5062
Email: xochitl.lopezlozano@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Condensed matter theory
» Optical spectroscopy
» Physics of nanostructures

Marcelo Marucho
Marcelo Marucho, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.374
Phone: (210) 458-7862
Email: marcelo.marucho@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biophysics
» Chemical physics
» Nano-conjugates
» Polymer physics

Kathryn Mayer
Kathryn Mayer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: AET 3.348
Phone: (210) 458-8281
Email: kathryn.mayer@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biophysics
» Optical techniques
» Plasmonics
» Single molecule studies

Carlos Monton
Carlos Monton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: AET 3.386
Phone: (210) 458-6564
Email: carlos.monton@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Magnetism
» Nanotechnology
» Organic electronic devices
» Plasmonics

Kelly Nash
Kelly Nash, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor of Record

Office: AET 3.203
Phone: (210) 458-6153
Email: kelly.nash@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biophotonics
» Nano-Bio interfaces
» Nanoparticle synthesis and spectroscopy
» Nanotransducers

Chris Packham
Chris Packham, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.384
Phone: (210) 458-8671
Email: chris.packham@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Active galactic nuclei
» Infrared instrumentation
» Infrared observations
» Stellar discs

Arturo Ponce-Pedraza
Arturo Ponce-Pedraza, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.352
Phone: (210) 458-8267
Email: arturo.ponce@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Nanostructured materials
» Structural defects in materials
» Transmission electron microscopy and electron diffraction

Dhiraj Sardar
Dhiraj Sardar, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.332
Phone: (210) 458-5462
Email: dhiraj.sardar@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biophotonics
» Laser spectroscopy
» Nanomaterials

Eric Schlegel
Eric Schlegel, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.324
Phone: (210) 458-6425
Email: eric.schlegel@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Astrophysics of interacting binary stars
» Supernovae
» X-ray emission of spiral galaxies

Elizabeth Sooby Wood
Elizabeth Sooby Wood, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: SRL 1.414
Phone: (210) 458-7901
Email: elizabeth.soobywood@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Corrosion
» High temperature materials synthesis
» Materials physics
» Nuclear materials
» Reaction kinetics
» Thermal analysis

Robert Whetten
Robert Whetten, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.392
Phone: (210) 458-5662
Email: robert.whetten@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» High-mass spectrometry
» Molecular metallurgy
» Solid-state chemistry

Non-Tenure Track

Dina Drozdov
Dina Drozdov, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: AET 3.344
Phone: (210) 458-8179
Email: dina.drozdov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Interstellar medium
» Supernovae

Sunil Fernandes
Sunil Fernandes, Ph.D.
Lecturer II

Office: AET 3.202D
Phone: (210) 458-8264
Email: sunil.fernandes@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Active Galaxies
» Astrophysics / High Energy Astrophysics
» Blazars
» Data analytics, data science, databases

Robert Hamby
Robert Hamby
Lecturer II

Office: MS 3.02.24
Phone: (210) 458-5749
Email: robert.hamby@utsa.edu

Ichishiro Konno
Ichishiro Konno, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: AET 3.376
Phone: (210) 458-5759
Email: ichishiro.konno@utsa.edu

xAneta Koynovax
Aneta Koynova, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: AET 3.350
Phone: (210) 458-7103
Email: aneta.koynova@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» III-V semiconductor thin film materials
» Nanostructured solar cells
» Photo-converters and solar cells
» Semiconductor physics and technology

Rafael Lopez Mobilia
Rafael Lopez-Mobilia, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, Associate Chair, and Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Office: AET 3.201
Phone: (210) 458-5460
Email: rafael.lopezmobilia@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cosmology
» Foundations of quantum mechanics
» Theoretical particle physics

James Powell
James Powell
Lecturer I

Office: AET 3.363
Phone: (210) 458-5698
Email: james.powell@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cosmic microwave background
» Cosmology
» Early radiation universe

Research and Visiting

Necip Guven, Ph.D.
Research Professor

Email: necip.guven@utsa.edu

Larry Tankersley, Ph.D.
Specialist

Email: larry.tankersley@utsa.edu

Adjoint

Southwest Research Institute (SwRI)

Click here to view the SwRI faculty involved in the Space Physics Graduate Program through UTSA.

UT Brownsville (UTB)

Click here to view the UTB faculty involved with UTSA students.