UTSA softball team
A winning Roadrunner softball team

UTSA enjoying record-breaking softball season

(May 4, 2004)--A few years ago, Major League Baseball put together a popular ad campaign with the tag line, "Chicks Dig the Long Ball."  Perhaps it's time to resurrect the campaign -- only this time, starring the UTSA softball team instead of Barry Bonds or Mark McGwire.

At last count, the Roadrunners had belted a NCAA-leading 101 home runs -- that's 26 more than the next closest team, the 10th-ranked Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns.  Along the way, the UTSA squad tied and later shattered the NCAA record for home runs in a single game, launching 10 round-trippers against Texas Southern.

Another 25 home runs by the Roadrunners will tie the NCAA single-season home run record set by Arizona in 2001.  Coincidentally, Arizona also won a national title that season.  UTSA will most likely have to match both feats to accomplish one.

Luckily for head coach Corrie Hill and her squad, the invitation to postseason play already has their names on it.  Already owners of the Southland Conference regular season title, the Roadrunners made the short trip north to San Marcos for last weekend's SLC Tournament.  Sunday, UTSA faced Northwestern State in the championship contest with a familiar outcome.

The Roadrunners exploded for nine runs on eight hits, including four home runs -- and that's just the fourth inning.  Overall, the UTSA squad scored an 11-3 victory in the mercy-rule-shortened contest, leaving little doubt they deserved the trophies they carried.

UTSA now has won 10 consecutive contests and 22 of its last 23 games.  On May 16, they will learn who they play next, as well as where they play next.  Meanwhile, they will continue to hit the practice field, and, most definitely, the batting cages.  After all, there are still records and titles to claim, and the Roadrunners are not done yet.

Note: The NCAA softball selection show can be seen at 7 p.m. May 16 on ESPN News.  Regional sites are Tucson, Ariz. (Arizona); Waco, Texas (Baylor); Los Angeles, Calif. (UCLA); Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State); Athens, Ga. (Georgia); Ann Arbor, Mich. (Michigan); Lincoln, Neb. (Nebraska) and Stanford, Calif. (Stanford).

--Leigh Anne Gullett

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |