soprano Linda Poetschke
Soprano Linda Poetschke

UTSA presents musical Monday Night Artist Series

(Sept. 14, 2004)--The UTSA Department of Music presents the Monday Night Artist Series featuring the talent of UTSA music faculty and world-renowned musicians.

Faculty members Linda Poetschke, soprano, and Christine Debus, piano, will perform Sept. 20. A reception follows the recital. The San Antonio Express-News described Poetschke as having "a voice of moire satin."

An Oct. 11 performance features faculty member Kevin Richmond on piano. He will perform works by Johannes Brahms, Franz Schubert and Enrique Granados.

On Oct. 18, the New Century Saxophone Quartet is featured. The only ensemble of its kind to win first prize at the Concert Artists Guild Competition, the quartet is a pioneering and versatile group with a diverse repertory ranging from "Art of the Fugue" by J.S. Bach to innovative contemporary works.

The ensemble has performed in major concert venues worldwide, on radio and television in the United States, Europe and Central America, and in two command performances at the White House for President Clinton.

The series continues Oct. 25 with a recital by UTSA faculty flutist Rita Linard. The concert will open with "Sonata in D Minor" with Michel Blavet on baroque flute and Geoffrey Waite on the harpsichord.

Pianist Christine Debus will join Linard in "Spindrift" for piccolo and piano by Seattle composer Ken Benshoof and "Sonata" for flute and piano by Republic of Georgia composer Otar Taktakishvili. The concert will feature "Charanga," a solo flute piece in the Latin Salsa style by New York composer Michael Colquhoun.

The Monday series continues Feb. 7 with the Swingle Singers, an ensemble of eight singers from the UK, who will present an a cappella performance. The group opens its United States tour with their vocal gymnastics and trademark sung arrangements of previously instrumental classical pieces. The UTSA Concert Choir will participate in a portion of the unique performance. For more information, visit the Swingle Singers Web site.

The series concludes April 18 with a piano performance by Elizabeth Gutierrez.

Series tickets, available until Sept. 20, are $60. All performances are at 7:30 p.m. Tickets for the New Century Saxophone Quartet and the Swingle Singers are $20 with no discounts or passes. Single tickets for the other performances in the series are $9 at the door; $7 for seniors, military and non-UTSA students. Admission is free for UTSA students with UTSACard.

For more information, call 210-458-5685.

For the latest information on arts and cultural events featuring UTSA students, faculty and staff, call the new 458-ARTS line (210-458-2787).

--Tim Brownlee

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |