UTSA student government election is Sept. 21-22

(Sept. 20, 2004)--The UTSA Student Government Association election begins Tuesday, Sept. 21 and continues until 11:59 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 22.

The elections for two executive offices and several at-large representative positions are online through the ASAP system. See voting instructions below.

Both executive candidates, Cody Coeckelenbergh and Carlos Cardenas, are running uncontested, however write-in candidates are allowed. Coeckelenbergh, a senior physics major from Port Aransas, Texas, is running for vice president-internal, while Cardenas is running for vice president-external. Cardenas is a graduate student in computer science who graduated from UTSA in May with a bachelor's degree in computer science.

Felix Garza Medina III and Andres Bocanegra III are competing for the Downtown Campus representative spot, while Jonathan Fierro and Felicia Owo are facing off for the right to represent Chaparral Village.

There are six candidates for freshman class representative. Carly Spannus, a business major from Austin; Arun Varughese, a biology major from Sugar Land; Margaret Michalec, a biology major from San Antonio; Matt Impelluso, a political science major from Baytown; Dallas Davis, a business administration major from Round Rock; and Daniel Kaparunakis, an engineering major from Houston.

Justine Joseph, a freshman psychology major from Houston, is running unopposed to represent Chisholm Hall.

The ballot also contains positions for the University Oaks representative, graduate student representative, registered student organization representative and sponsored student organization representative. Since there are no declared candidates for these representative seats, write-in votes will be accepted.

Results will be announced at the UV '04 (UTSA Votes) concert Sept. 23 between 6 and 7 p.m.

--Leigh Anne Gullett


How to vote online:

  1. Go to ASAP Web site ( .
  2. Click on "Logon to ASAP."
  3. Type USER ID and PIN.
  4. Click "Login."
  5. On "Main Menu" page, click on "Vote Now for the SGA Election!" just below the ASAP welcome message.
  6. On the "Current Surveys" page, click on "SGA 2004 Election."
  7. On "Survey Questions" page, select candidate choice by clicking on circular button next to candidate name.
  8. Click "Survey Complete" to cast vote.
  9. You will then be sent back to "Personal Information" page, where you can log out of ASAP.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |