Prime Time Players
UTSA's Prime Time Players

Prime time for Prime Time Players: Intramural champs to participate in national tournament

(March 24, 2005)--The UTSA men's basketball intramural champions, Prime Time Players, won the regional intramural championship tournament at the University of Houston, March 18-20, earning a spot in the national tournament April 15-17 at Georgia Tech University.

The team defeated Texas Southern and Delgado Community College (Louisiana) in pool play, Rice and Lee College (Houston) in single elimination and Texas Southern in the championship game. UTSA Prime Timer Chris Janecek was the tournament's MVP and teammate Jarod Dinkins garnered all-tournament honors.

Sponsored by the campus recreation department, the eight-member team coaches itself on the court. Other team members are Mark Vear (captain), Joelu Edewu, D'Juan Gregory, Justin Lassister, Joel Tarin and D'arcy Megowen.

"We did so well because we play as a team and we do not argue on the court," said team captain Mark Vear on the squad's success.

The National Intramural Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA) sponsors the regional tournaments, which are open to any team across the nation. Games consist of two 20-minute halves with a five-minute halftime and follow National High School Federation rules.

While the national tournament is open to all teams, UTSA will enter the competition with a high seed as one of eight regional winners.

Campus Recreation sends both the men's and women's champions in basketball and football to their respective regional tournaments. UTSA claimed the regional title in football this year as well, making a clean sweep of regional tournaments.

--Hector Benavides

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |