Dr. Harriett Romo and research team
From left to right, the UTSA research team working with Associate
Professor Harriett Romo (center) includes Maria Rodriguez, master's
student in bicultural-bilingual studies; Tamara Casso, M.S.,
community education and research specialist; Sophia Ortiz, master's
student in sociology and full-time project coordinator; Maria Quezada,
master's student in bicultural-bilingual studies; Maritza
Rivera-Gaxiola, director of neurophysiology lab at University of
Washington's Institute of Learning and Brain Sciences; and Monique
Diaz, undergraduate sociology student.

Dr. Harriett Romo receives 2005 ATHENA Award

By Marianne McBride Lewis
Associate Director of Public Affairs

(Nov. 9, 2005)--The 2005 San Antonio ATHENA International Award recently was presented to Harriett Romo, UTSA associate professor of sociology, at the 16th annual Enterprising Women's Conference hosted by the North San Antonio Chamber of Commerce. The award was sponsored by Cingular Wireless.

Romo was selected from 14 nominees for the award, which recognizes an outstanding San Antonio leader who has provided development opportunities for women.

According to Yolanda Delgado, 2005 ATHENA Enterprising Women's Conference Committee chair, Romo was chosen for this year's award because of her work in education and early childhood development, and for mentoring women.

"Dr. Harriett Romo is an inspiration and a role model to women at all levels, not only here in San Antonio but nationwide because she touches people wherever she goes," said Delgado. "She was very unselfish in her interview. She never talked about herself, but instead spoke of how proud she is of her students and the work they are doing to make San Antonio a better place."

The ATHENA Foundation has been nationally recognized since 1982, and most recently internationally, providing opportunities for growth and development of leaders in the communities served. The San Antonio ATHENA Award recognizes individuals from the local area for their professional achievements, community service and generosity in assisting women in attaining professional excellence and leadership skills. Both men and women are eligible to receive the award.

The 2004 ATHENA Award recipient was Mary Pat Moyer, CEO and chief science officer of Incell Corporation and CEO of TEKSA Innovations Corp. Previous recipients include Susan Blackwood, executive director of the San Antonio Sports Foundation; Cyndi Taylor Krier, former Bexar County judge and current USAA vice president for Texas government relations; and Christine Prescott, CEO, Corporate Travel Planners.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |