University Life

University Life Awards presented to UTSA community

(April 11, 2006)--The University Life Awards, sponsored by the UTSA Student Government Association (SGA), were presented last week at a ceremony in the University Center Retama Auditorium (2.02.02) on the 1604 Campus. Forty members of the UTSA community and six student organizations were honored at the event.

Celebrating its 30th anniversary, the University Life Awards honor outstanding students, student organizations, faculty members and staff members.

The awards recognize individuals and organizations in categories including sports, leadership, academic excellence, and campus and community service programs. This year's award winners are listed below.

For more information, contact the Office of Student Activities at (210) 458-4160.


University Life Award winners

Outstanding Students in the Colleges

  • Architecture -- Joel Nolan
  • Business -- Ekaterina Trepalina
  • Education and Human Development -- Li Jia and Frances Farruggia
  • Engineering -- Daniel Johnson
  • Liberal and Fine Arts -- Erin White
  • Public Policy -- Ericka Barrera
  • Sciences -- Kennon Koenig
  • Honors -- Erin White

Outstanding Student by Classification

  • Freshman -- Meaghan Regis
  • Sophomore -- Emily Mandes
  • Junior -- Matthew Gomez
  • Senior -- Liliana Gonzalez
  • Graduate Students -- Gilberta Turner

Most Spirited Student

  • Laura Beth Rodriguez

Most Outstanding Resident Assistant

  • Alanna Hogg

Jane Findling Award

  • Steven Garza
  • Heather Hernandez
  • Muneera Mohammed-Shah
  • Venetia Pedraza
  • Luisa Cantu
  • Johnny Mendez Jr.

Golden Feather Award

  • Justin Shenk
  • Viresh Thusu
  • Jennifer Villarreal
  • Angela Hicks
  • Chaunte McClendon
  • Laura Beth Rodriguez
  • Christine LeBlanc

Alumni Association's Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award

  • Felicia Briscoe

Most Outstanding Academic Advisor

  • Georgette Sano, College of Business Advising Center

Outstanding Support Staff Member

  • Chris Koval, Distance Learning

Outstanding Professional Staff Member

  • Ann Margaret Trujillo, Student Activities

Diane Abdo Organization Advisor of the Year

  • Marlon Anderson, Student Government Association

Outstanding Registered Student Organization

  • Catholic Student Association

Outstanding Special Interest Program

  • UTSA Student Literary Journal

Outstanding Cultural or Religious Program

  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc.

Outstanding Membership Development Program

  • Sociology Graduate Student Association

Outstanding Service Program or Project

  • Catholic Student Association

Outstanding Cumulative GPA

  • Alpha Sigma Alpha Sorority

Female Athlete of the Year

  • Katrina Balmaceda

Male Athlete of the Year

  • Russell Carr

Official of the Year

  • Jose Perez

Sports Club Leader of the Year

  • Chris Boney

Female Fitness Fanatic

  • Analyn Porto

Male Fitness Fanatic

  • Scott Martwick