UTSA Terry scholars
UTSA Terry scholars: (front row from left): Michelle Lange, Nicole
White, Hanna Hankins and Sable Sutton. Back row: Chris Huynh,
Fabiola Espinoza, Laura Sewell, Lindsey Weigel and Justin Griffith.
(Photo by Mark McClendon)

First Terry Foundation scholars arrive at UTSA

By Cindy Brockwell
Development Assistant, Office of Student Affairs

(Aug. 25, 2006)--The first class of nine UTSA Terry scholars has arrived.

Terry Foundation Scholarships, a first for UTSA this semester, are awarded for a student's freshman year of college with up to $20,000 per student per year in funding to cover tuition, fees, books, on-campus room and board, and miscellaneous expenses. And, at the discretion of the foundation's board of directors, the scholarship may be renewed annually, up to four years.

The Terry Foundation, working with the UTSA Honors College, accepted applications and conducted interviews with prospective students during the spring semester.

Ann Eisenberg, associate dean of the Honors College, said, "Selecting our first class of Terry Scholars was an extraordinarily competitive process, but we're confident we have an inaugural class that will contribute a great deal to UTSA through their intellectual activities and leadership."

"The group includes two valedictorians, one salutatorian, and an all-state vocal performer," Eisenberg added. "All have been extremely active in extra-curricular activities and service, and their average SAT score is 1,255."

Originally, the foundation hoped to select eight students; however, based on the qualifications of the finalists, nine students were selected for the UTSA Terry Foundation Scholars inaugural class.

"The Terry Foundation Scholarship program is one of the most distinguished programs of its kind in the country, and UTSA is honored to be a recipient," said UTSA President Ricardo Romo. "As UTSA moves toward tier-one research university status, it is inspiring to know that this group of tier-one students selected UTSA as their university of first choice, and we are grateful to the Terry Foundation for making that possible."

The Terry Foundation will continue to award scholarships to approximately eight UTSA freshmen annually with a goal of reaching 32 within the first four years of the program. Criteria for selection include academic excellence, leadership and financial need.

The nine freshmen selected for 2006-07 are:

  • Fabiola Espinoza, Von Ormy, biology/pre-dental
  • Justin Griffith, San Antonio, infrastructure assurance, Honors College
  • Katherine Hanna Hankins, Corpus Christi, biology/pre-dental, Honors College
  • Christopher Huynh, Round Rock, biology/pre-dental, Honors College
  • Michelle Lange, La Coste, music/composition, Honors College
  • Laura Sewell, San Antonio, architecture
  • Sable Sutton, Gonzales, biology, Honors College
  • Lindsey Weigel, Spring, biology, Honors College
  • Nicole White, Kingwood, psychology, Honors College

UTSA was selected as a Terry Scholars campus last October. UTSA joins the University of Texas at Austin, Texas A&M University, the University of Houston and Texas State University-San Marcos in hosting the largest private scholarship program in the state.

The Houston-based Terry Foundation was created in 1986 by Howard L. Terry, a successful businessman in banking, construction, real estate and energy; and his wife, Nancy M. Terry. The program's goal is to make a lasting contribution to higher education in Texas. Rather than endow faculty chairs or fund buildings, the Terrys focus their philanthropy on supporting students who attend public colleges and universities.

To date, the Terry Scholarship Program has assisted more than 1,300 Texas college students. The foundation, chartered to exist in perpetuity, is funded by a $100 million endowment, and the scholarship program is designed to provide an increasing number of awards each year.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |