Photo competition first-place winners by (from top)
Brandon Melland, Jesus Bray and Evan Cox

UTSA architecture students host photo competition

By Martin Rodriguez
Information Technology Associate, College of Architecture

(Nov. 10, 2006)--The UTSA chapter of the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) conducted their first annual photography competition Oct. 27 in the College of Architecture gallery at the UTSA Downtown Campus.

Open to UTSA architecture students, more than 90 entries were submitted in the black-and-white, color and digitally altered categories. Three awards were given in each category, and the first-place photographs were donated to the college, courtesy of AIAS.

The exhibit was curated by Devin Oatman, AIAS president, and Laura Rodriguez, AIAS vice president, and the photographs were displayed through Nov. 6.  Awards were presented at a Nov. 1 reception in the gallery.

Artwork was judged by a panel selected from the art community including Arturo Almeida, UTSA art specialist; Jim Dawes, architect, photographer and College of Architecture instructor; Daniel Guerrero, municipal court judge and artist; and Martin Rodriguez, artist and College of Architecture information technology associate.


Photography competition winners and categories


  • Brandon Melland, first place
  • Steve Williams, second place
  • Mathew Carrelle, third place


  • Jesus Baray, first place
  • Rene Salas, second place
  • Diana Alarcon, third place

Digitally altered

  • Evan Cox, first place
  • Raul Medina, second place
  • Lina Linque, third place

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |