Kanae HirazawaRafael Moras
Competition winners Kanae Hirazawa (left) and Rafael Moras. Photos of winners
Rebecca Johnson and Carlos Esparza were not available.

Aria and concerto competition winners to perform

By Ashley Harris
Public Affairs Specialist

(Feb. 1, 2007)--The UTSA Orchestra conducted by Eugene Dowdy, associate professor and chair of the Department of Music, presents the annual Concerto and Aria Competition Winners' Concert at 7:30 p.m., Thursday, Feb. 1 in the Arts Building Recital Hall on the 1604 Campus.

Winners of a judged competition last fall, the featured soloists include Rebecca Johnson, soprano ("Recit et Air and Prelude from L'enfant Prodigue"); Rafael Moras, tenor ("Una Furtiva Lagrima from L'elisir d'amore"); Kanae Hirazawa, piano ("Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 23 movement 3") and Carlos Esparza, clarinet ("Concerto No. 2 movements 2 and 3").

Students compete by singing or performing on a musical instrument and are judged by jurors brought in for the competition.

Admission is $5, free for students with UTSACard. Tickets will be available at the door or in advance by calling (210) 458-5685.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |