Vivian EwalefoMonica Gibbs
Vivian Ewalefo and Monica Gibbs

Roadrunner basketball players garner SLC accolades

By Carlos Valdez II
UTSA Assistant Sports Information Director

(March 6, 2007)--UTSA senior Vivian Ewalefo and sophomore Monica Gibbs were named to the 2006-07 All Southland Conference basketball teams, the league office announced Monday. Ewalefo collected first-team honors for the second year in a row, while Gibbs picked up her first all-conference award when she was named to the second team.

Last season's SLC Newcomer of the Year, Ewalefo is the second UTSA player in the program's history to earn first-team acolades in consecutive seasons (Nikki Hendrix, 2002-03/'03-04). Ewalefo leads UTSA in scoring at 16.1 points per game (fifth SLC) and is second with 7.8 rebounds per contest. The Las Vegas native also has six double-doubles this season.

Highlighting the second team was Gibbs, who leads the league with 12 double-doubles and was a two-time SLC Player of the Week selection. The Stillwater, Okla., native is averaging 13 points per game and leads the Roadrunners with 8.0 boards (fifth SLC) and 4.6 assists (third SLC) per contest. In conference action, she upped those marks to 13.9 ppg and 8.8 rpg.

UTSA travels to Houston for the O'Reilly Auto Parts/Southland Conference Tournament this week as the No. 5 seed. The Roadrunners open tournament play at 8:30 p.m., Wednesday, March 7, when they play No. 4 seed Southeastern Louisiana.


2006-07 All-Southland Conference Teams

First Team
Charity Egenti, Stephen F. Austin
Vivian Ewalefo, UTSA
Kirbria Lewis, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Caronica Randle, Central Arkansas
Terra Wallace, Texas-Arlington

Second Team
Joyce Ekworomadu, Texas State
Monica Gibbs, UTSA
Chassidy Jones, Northwestern State
Jamie Octave, Nicholls State
Brenita Williams, Southeastern Louisiana

Third Team
Maryann Abanobi, Texas-Arlington
Ashley Bobb, Texas-Arlington
Nikki Carr, Stephen F. Austin
LaToya Carson, Lamar
Nicole Duncan, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Brittney Williams, Lamar

Honorable Mention
Jazmin Cain, Southeastern Louisiana
Renita Dobbins, Central Arkansas
Evelyn Edwards, Stephen F. Austin
Tena Matthews, Northwestern State
Dionne Pounds, Lamar
Erica Putnam, Texas State
Tiffeny Riles, Texas-Arlington
Adah Wells, Sam Houston State
Tina Wilson, Southeastern Louisiana

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |