forum schedule

UTSA begins search process for provost

(Aug. 20, 2007)--UTSA President Ricardo Romo has appointed a search committee representing UTSA faculty, students, staff and community leaders to seek candidates for the vacant position of UTSA provost and vice president for academic affairs. As part of the search process, the committee will conduct five public meetings to gain input. Four meetings are at the 1604 Campus and one is at the Downtown Campus.

"We want to gain a broad understanding of both the university's and the San Antonio community's recommendations for the qualifications and strengths they want to see in our next provost, so that the search committee can focus on submitting the most qualified candidates to President Romo," said James McDonald, professor and chair of the Department of Anthropology and chair of the search committee. "The individual chosen will serve as UTSA's chief academic officer and is crucial to leading our efforts to become a premier public university."

The committee is charged to present the names of three unranked finalists for the position to Romo, who will make the final decision. The 19-member committee is composed of UTSA faculty, administrators and staff, and a student and community representative.

As part of the search, the committee chose to advertise in national publications such as The Chronicle of Higher Education, Diversity and Hispanic Outlook. The committee plans to complete the search by the end of the fall semester.

Reporting to the president, the provost and vice president for academic affairs is responsible for academic leadership in ensuring curricula, teaching and research of superior quality; working with the Faculty Senate on matters of general welfare of the university; diversifying and administering the academic budget, advising the president on plans, policies and operations; and representing the university in the president's absence.

For more information, visit the UTSA Provost Search Web site.


UTSA Provost Search Committee

  • James McDonald, (chair) professor and chair of the Department of Anthropology
  • Alberto Arroyo, professor of civil engineering
  • Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, chair of the Department of Biology
  • Robert Baron, interim dean of the College of Architecture
  • Walter Downing, executive vice president, Southwest Research Institute
  • Ann Eisenberg, associate dean of the Honors College
  • Mansour El-Kikhia, associate professor of political science and geography and chair of Faculty Senate
  • Leonard Flaum, diversity analyst, Office of Institutional Diversity
  • Belinda Flores, associate professor of interdisciplinary learning and teaching
  • Daniel Gelo, dean of the College of Liberal and Fine Arts
  • Dennis Haynes, professor and chair of the Department of Social Work
  • Raquel Marquez, associate professor and chair of the Department of Sociology
  • Yolanda Miller, director of purchasing and distribution services
  • Janet Parker, associate vice president for financial affairs
  • Carolyn Orange, professor of counseling and educational psychology
  • Gage Paine, vice president for student affairs
  • L.J. Shrum, professor of marketing
  • Deborah Wagner, student representative
  • Jesus Zuniga, community representative

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |