committee members
SECC poster
talent show
Top photo: UTSA's 2007 SECC President's Advisory Committee
(Photo by Mark McClendon)

President's committee leads charitable campaign

By Lynn Gosnell
Special Projects Writer

(Sept. 18, 2007)--Twenty-five faculty and staff members from across the UTSA Tri-Campus community are serving as the President's Advisory Committee (PAC) for the 2007 State Employee Charitable Campaign (SECC). This year's campaign runs Monday, Oct. 1-Friday, Oct. 19.

Selected by President Ricardo Romo, the committee members are steering a broad effort to inform the UTSA community about the benefits of this annual workplace giving campaign.

PAC members will be assisted by 150 Area Champions -- faculty and employees who step up to champion the campaign in their respective areas or departments. Albert Carrisalez, assistant to the president and director for external affairs, will serve again as the UTSA SECC chairperson.

"I am delighted to be a part of this campaign, working with the PAC team and all of the Area Champions," said Carrisalez. "Last year, the UTSA community was extremely generous in its participation -- and we managed to have a lot of fun in the process. No doubt, almost every one of you has been touched by one of these agencies. I'm looking forward to another record-breaking year for UTSA."

The UTSA Tri-Campus community was indeed a shining star in the 2006 statewide campaign -- 62 percent of UTSA employees contributed more than $225,000 to local, national and international nonprofit charities through the SECC. That figure represents the highest percentage of participation for any UT System component.

PAC members assist with all aspects of the campaign from planning and publicizing special events and agency field trips to securing prizes and gifts to offer as incentives for employee participation.

A special event this year will be a faculty-staff "UTSA's Got Talent" performance, scheduled for Wednesday Oct. 17. Admission to the performance will be an employee's pledged gift to the SECC campaign. Watch for more details.

Members of the President's Advisory Committee and their respective departments are:

Bill Angrove (Distance Learning)
Tim Brownlee (Public Affairs)
Albert Carrisalez (Office of the President/External Affairs)
Rita Cortez (TRIO)
Donna Dancak (College of Business)
Laurie De La Paz (Civil Engineering)
Kimberly Durham (Alumni Programs)
Tammy Fernandez (Office of the President/External Affairs)
Karen Halamuda (Information Technology)
Evaristo Hinojosa (Budget and Financial Planning)
Debbie Jamison (Office of the Provost)
Kelly Kam (Vice President for Research)
Jana Kennelly (Assoc. VP Student Affairs Administration and Planning)
Marianne Lewis (Public Affairs)
Edda Mayer (Special Projects)
Jim McDonald (Anthropology Department)
Barry McKinney (Student Activities and University Center)
Sherry Lindsey (Office of the President/External Affairs)
Gina Mendez (Office of the Assoc. Provost, Downtown Campus)
Irene Mireles (Small Business Development Center, Regional Office)
George Negrete (Chemistry Department)
Michelle Phillips (VP for Academic Affairs)
Kelly Jo Stephens (Biology Department)
Frances Riojas (Small Business Development Center, Regional Office)
Joe Rubio (Facilities, Downtown Campus)
Nina Sosa (Institutional Diversity)
Jennifer Storm (Office of the President/External Affairs)
Denise Villarreal (Institute of Texan Cultures, Folklife Festival)

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |