Chritina Gomez
Newly elected SGA President Christina Gomez

Student government announces election winners

By Barry McKinney
Director of Student Activities

(March 31, 2008)--The UTSA Student Government Association (SGA) announced March 27 the winners of the March 26-27 run-off election. Seven hundred or 2.8 percent of the eligible 26,188 UTSA students voted in the run-off for president, treasurer and secretary of SGA.

Christina Gomez, a senior biology major from Merdedes, was elected SGA president for the 2008-2009 academic year. She served last year as SGA treasurer. In the run-off election, Fabian Vasquez was elected treasurer and Derek Bell was voted secretary. The new officers will be sworn in at the SGA inauguration banquet on Sunday, April 13.

The election results were certified by Dan Iza, SGA chief justice; José David Mireles, SGA justice; Ezinne Okpo, SGA justice; John Kaulfus, SGA adviser and associate dean of students; Barry McKinney, SGA adviser and director of student activities; and John Montoya, SGA adviser and assistant director of leadership development and SGA.

The election results are listed below. Candidates in bold type are the winners.

Christina Gomez -- 394 votes or 53.46% of students voting on this office
Matthew DeLeon -- 343 votes or 46.54% of students voting on this office

Fabian Vasquez -- 350 votes or 51.62% of students voting on this office
Jordan Raymond -- 328 votes or 48.38% of students voting on this office

Derek Bell -- 385 votes or 57.12% of students voting on this office

Kort Jackson -- 289 votes or 42.88% of students voting on this office

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |