UTSA float
UTSA float
Briefcase Brigade
Briefcase Brigade
UTSA entries in Battle of Flowers parade

UTSA wins prizes in first Battle of Flowers entries

By Wendy Frost
Director of Communications, College of Business

(April 29, 2008)--UTSA won two prizes in the Battle of Flowers parade last Friday -- the first time UTSA had parade entries. The parade through downtown is part of the annual Fiesta San Antonio celebration, which ran April 18-27. The UTSA College of Business Briefcase Brigade won first place in the amusements category and the UTSA float won third place in the education and civic category.

The Briefcase Brigade, comprised of business faculty, staff and students, performed a "precision" briefcase dance routine to the song "Shake Ya Tail Feather" in tribute to the UTSA Roadrunners. The group was led by Jemina Brown, an undergraduate adviser in the College of Business and a Spurs Silver Dancer.

>> View video of the Briefcase Brigade performance (KABB-TV, 4/25/2008).

Mr. and Ms. UTSA, Daniel Bernal Jr. and Jessica Beamer, rode the float, along with three members of UTSA Mariachi Los Paisanos (Director José Torres, Rebecca Pichardo and Luis Robles).

"We are excited that we could represent UTSA in this historic parade," said Lynda de la Viña, dean of the College of Business. "I've wanted the college to participate in the parade for several years now. It was a wonderful opportunity for faculty, staff and students to bond and to do their part to spread the mission of the College of Business and UTSA."

"I am so excited about entering the float in the parade, and I definitely want to do it next year," said Barry McKinney, UTSA director of student activities. "Barely five minutes after the parade began, a little girl asked to have her picture taken with Ms. UTSA. She said it was fun to have her picture taken with a princess. That moment made it worth it. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to participate in this very special event."

Briefcase Brigade student participants were Chance Edmondson, Brenda Gutierrez, Jason Gutierrez, Holly Mauricio, Robert Moreno, Nicole Munoz, Omarr Nijie, Desarae Rodriguez, Marie Rojas, Sergio Silva and Allen Thornton.

Brigade faculty participants were de la Viña, Pepe Chang, Keith Fairchild, Martha Fasci, Juan Gonzalez, Dan Hollas, Dennis Lopez, Lisa Montoya, John Wald, Diane Walz and Veronda Willis.

Brigade staff participants were Maureen Bird, Jemina Brown, Claudia Dawdy, Wendy Frost, Kim Kyle, Deryl Martin, Elaine Miller, Peter Morales, Araceli Pacheco, Cindy Perez, Kathy Pope, Judy Quiroz, Patrick Valdez, Issis Vela-Fox and Sandy Wenzel.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |