Downtown Campus
UTSA Downtown Campus

UTSA hosts North American Energy Summit May 1-2

By Kris Rodriguez
Public Affairs Specialist

(April 29, 2008)--UTSA will bring together energy leaders, industry professionals and academicians representing three countries for the inaugural UTSA North American Energy Summit (NAES) May 1-2 at the UTSA Downtown Campus. The summit will feature experts in a range of fields from the United States, Canada and Mexico who will discuss future energy needs.

Guests include Elizabeth Ames Jones, Texas railroad commissioner and NAES honorary chair; Nelson Wolff, Bexar County Judge; Dale Klein, chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; Michael McElroy, Harvard University; Grant Heffelinger, Sandia National Laboratory; Norris Pettis, consul general of Canada; Ibrahim Dancer, University of Ontario, Canada; and Miriam Grunstein, Instituto Tecnologico Autonomo, Mexico City.

The Thursday, May 1 panel sessions will address short-term energy futures over the next 20 years, global environmental change, and energy production and efficiency. Friday, May 2 panel sessions will cover paths to sustainability, emerging technologies and social and educational challenges.

The issues discussed at the summit will form the foundation for a UTSA energy consortium, the Institute for Conventional, Alternative and Renewable Energy (ICARE). ICARE will address a core area of excellence in UTSA's strategic plan, "A Shared Vision: UTSA 2016." Through ICARE, UTSA will build a consortium to foster collaboration among representatives from industry, government and academia to explore new directions, policies and best practices for the energy industries in Texas, North America and around the world.

The UTSA North American Energy Summit is sponsored by CPS Energy, Bexar County, Southwest Research Institute, Canadian Consulate General, Valero Energy Corp., City of San Antonio and the State Energy Conservation Office of Texas.

For more information or scheduling, visit the UTSA College of Engineering Web site or contact Mauli Agrawal, UTSA College of Engineering dean, at (210) 458-5526.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |