UTSA engineering students
Pictured from left are Randall D. Manteufel (faculty adviser); UTSA students
Adam Becker, Raham Kirkwood, Rey Gutierrez (ASHRAE student chapter
president), Matthew Ploch, and William Hosket; John Thompson (ASHRAE
student activities chair); Efstathios (Stathis) Michaelides (UTSA professor
and chair of mechanical engineering) and James Drewry III (ASHRAE president).

ASHRAE supports UTSA engineering students

By Kris Rodriguez
Public Affairs Specialist

(June 20, 2008)--The Alamo Chapter of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) recently donated $2,500 to support UTSA mechanical engineering students entering the 2008 National Student Design Competition.

The competitors were asked to design a heating, ventilation and air conditioning system for a 60,000-square-foot recreation center in Nashville, Tenn. The center would include a gymnasium with basketball courts, an elevated running track, a wellness center with fitness equipment and aerobic rooms, a natatorium, racquetball courts, locker rooms and administrative offices.

ASHRAE sponsors the design competition to encourage undergraduate students to become involved in the heating, ventilating and air conditioning profession.

UTSA's team members included Adam Becker, Raham Kirkwood, Rey Gutierrez, Matthew Ploch, William Hosket, John Thompson and James Drewry III. Their faculty adviser is Randy Manteufel, UTSA associate professor of mechanical engineering.

Winners will be announced at the ASHRAE 2009 winter meeting in Chicago.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |