Alumni Gala logo

UTSA Alumni Reflections Gala is Aug. 16

By Marcia Mattingly
Communications Consultant, Office of Alumni Programs

(July 14, 2008)--The UTSA Alumni Association will host the ninth annual UTSA Alumni Gala at 6:15 p.m., Saturday, Aug. 16 at the Westin La Cantera Resort and Hotel. The event will include a Power Drawing for vacations and other prizes and a silent auction featuring merchandise and services from alumni business owners and other friends of UTSA.

Honorees at the event will be San Antonio Deputy City Manager A.J. Rodriguez, B.B.A. '98, M.B.A. '00, as Alumnus of the Year and Olympic athlete and teacher Liza Hunter-Galvan, B.S. '93, M.A. '05, who will receive the Distinguished Service Award.

The new gala theme, "Reflections," was chosen to reflect the tradition, spirit and pride of UTSA and to reflect the past, present and future of UTSA through its outstanding alumni. The theme also captures the spirit and promise of the university as it realizes its dreams for the future.

"This is the night we celebrate the alumni of UTSA -- the volunteers, mentors and community leaders who have contributed to the phenomenal success of UTSA," said 2008 gala chair Cathy Starnes, Ph.D. '92, chief executive officer, Southwest Business Corp. employee benefits consulting division. "All the hard work is for a worthy cause -- raising money for student scholarships and programs and services for all alumni."

"We always have a wonderful time at the alumni gala," said association president Yvonne Fernandez, '85. "It is a great way for alumni to donate their time, talent and treasure to help make the evening successful. We always need volunteers to assist with table sales, obtain auction items and help with set-up on event day. If you're willing to lend a hand, please call us to get involved."

Honorary gala chairs are Gregg Muenster and Syd Muenster, '00, who are longtime UTSA supporters. Gala 2008 committee members are Melissa Aguillon, '95 '99; Paul Ayala, '03 '05; Dinah Covert, '95; Steven Langley, '05; Albert Estrada, '83 and Wayne Terry, '85. The emcee for the gala is Deborah Knapp, KENS-TV.

Marking its 30th anniversary, the UTSA Alumni Association helps to provide student scholarships with a portion of gala proceeds going to the UTSA Alumni Scholarship Fund. Over 30 years, more than $700,000 has been raised for scholarships. Sarah Garrahan, '77, judge of County Court-at-Law No. 4, assisted the first board of directors in obtaining the alumni association charter. The first president of the association was Yvonne Katz, Ph.D. '74.


The UTSA Alumni Reflections Gala begins with a cocktail reception and silent auction at 6:15 p.m. with music by the UTSA marimba ensemble. Dinner is served at 7:30 p.m. and the program begins at 8:20 p.m. The popular Austin band, Newsboyz, will provide music for the evening. Dress for the evening is black-tie optional for men and cocktail attire for women.

Table sponsorships are available at the Diamond level for $5,000, the Emerald level for $3,500 and the Ruby level for $2,500. These sponsors will have a student scholarship named for them for the 2009-2010 academic year. The Sapphire level is $1,500 and individual tickets are $125. Each table seats eight.

For reservations or more information, visit the UTSA Alumni Gala Web site or call (210) 458-4133.


UTSA Alumni Gala 2008 Power Drawing and Silent Auction

The Power Drawing is a great way to contribute to the UTSA Alumni Association Scholarship Fund. Purchase one ticket for $20 or 3 for $50 and have a chance to win one of these prizes: vacation for two to St. Maarten, $2,500 Valero pre-paid gas card, four-hour sailing tour of Lake Travis in Austin, trip for two to Breckenridge, Colo., with airfare to Denver, trip for two to Savannah, Ga., or a Samsung 40-inch flat panel HDTV. The prize drawings will be during the Reflections Alumni Gala Aug. 16; you need not be present to win.

For more information, visit the Power Drawing Web site or call (210) 458-4133.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |