Student 'Who's Who' nominations due Oct. 31

By Charlin Jones
Assistant Director, Special Events Center

(Oct. 17, 2007)--Nominations for "Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges" and "Who's Who at UTSA" are due Friday, Oct. 31. The "Who's Who" national program began in 1934 to honor students who demonstrate outstanding achievement during their college careers. More than 2,300 colleges and universities participate in the annual selection process.

"The participation of UTSA faculty and staff members in last year's 'Who's Who' program helped make it a great success," said Gage E. Paine, UTSA vice president for student affairs. "I ask for your support again in selecting 150 UTSA juniors, seniors and graduate students to become participants in 'Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.'"

The 150 students also will be named as participants in "Who's Who at UTSA," along with up to 20 freshmen and 20 sophomores, for a total of 190 students selected for "Who's Who at UTSA."

The 190 students will receive a "Who's Who at UTSA" certificate. The junior, senior and graduate student nominees also will receive certificates from the national organization.

In nominating students, consider these factors: scholarship, leadership, participation in extracurricular activities, and service to the university and local communities. Undergraduate student nominees must be enrolled in at least 9 credit hours at time of nomination. Graduate student nominees must be enrolled in at least 6 credit hours at time of nomination.

Send lists with more than 20 names in an Excel file via e-mail.

The list of nominated students will be posted through January 30, 2009 at the Office of Student Activities, University Center Room 1.210, 1604 Campus, and Durango Building Room 1.302, Downtown Campus.


Nominations are due Friday, Oct. 31 to Charlin Jones, Special Events Center, University Center Room 1.224, 1604 Campus, or by e-mail.

>> Download the nomination form (PDF document).

The selection committee will consist of faculty and staff members from across the UTSA Tri-Campus community.

For more information and to volunteer for the selection committee, contact Charlin Jones at (210) 458-6736.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |