Top photo (from left): Mauli Agrawal (UTSA College of Engineering
dean), William Morrow (CSIdentity chairman and CEO) and UTSA
President Ricardo Romo
Bottom photo: Morrow, Ravi Sandhu (Institute for Cyber
Security executive director), Lynda de la Vina
(UTSA College of Business dean) and Agrawal
(Photos by Mark McClendon)

Mauli Agrawal, William Morrow named to tech initiative

(Nov. 18, 2008)--UTSA President Ricardo Romo hosted a reception Nov. 5 to honor Mauli Agrawal, dean of the UTSA College of Engineering, and William Morrow, chairman and CEO of CSIdentity, on their recent appointments by Governor Rick Perry to the Emerging Technology Fund (ETF) initiative. Co-hosts of the event were the San Antonio Technology Accelerator Initiative (SATAI) and the North San Antonio Chamber of Commerce.

Established by the 79th Legislature in 2005, ETF is designed to work through partnerships between state agencies, institutions of higher education and private industry.

This includes the operation of Regional Centers of Innovation and Commercialization (RCIC) throughout the state, matching grant funds for technical research and development projects that accelerate new product commercialization, and for attracting highly renowned research talent.

Since ETF's inception, an estimated $12 million has been awarded to San Antonio institutions (including $3.5 million for UTSA) for research superiority, matching grants and project commercialization.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |