debate graphic

UTSA hosts March 18 mayoral election debate

(March 13, 2009)--The UTSA Alumni Association, UTSA Student Government Association and the San Antonio Association of Hispanic Journalists will host a mayoral candidate debate at 7 p.m., Wednesday, March 18 in the Main Building Auditorium (0.104) on the 1604 Campus. Seating will begin at 6 p.m. and parking will be available in lot 4 adjacent to the building.

The 90-minute debate will be open to the public and broadcast live exclusively on Time Warner Cable Digital Channel 50. Featuring candidates Julian Castro, Diane Cibrian, Sheila D. McNeil and Trish DeBerry-Mejia, it is the first debate where all four mayoral hopefuls will meet head to head. KENS-TV anchor Deborah Knapp will moderate.

Candidates will respond to moderated, audience-provided, pre-recorded and e-mailed questions. Voters can submit questions to Time Warner Cable at Questions will be accepted until the day of the debate, March 18, and randomly selected.

Additional mayoral candidates not participating in the debate are Lauro Bustamante, Michael "Commander" Idrogo, Napoleon Madrid, Julie Iris Oldham and Rhett R. Smith.

The debate will be rebroadcast a few days later on Time Warner Cable's San Antonio on Demand channel 988, allowing customers with a digital set-top box to watch full coverage at their convenience and at no charge.

Through innovative technology and an upgraded fiber-based network, Time Warner Cable San Antonio offers customer service and technical support day or night every day. Channel 988 is a free on-demand channel focusing on arts and culture, local sports, education and local government. For more information, visit the Time Warner Cable Web site or call Laura Aplin at (210) 582-9597.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |