women's basketball team
UTSA women's basketball winners

UTSA Roadrunners advance to NCAA Tournament

By Carlos Valdez
Assistant Sports Information Director

(March 16, 2009)--The Southland Conference Tournament Champion UTSA women's basketball team -- two-time conference champions -- will find out its NCAA first-round assignment Monday night, March 16 when the 64-team NCAA Division I bracket is revealed live on ESPN from 6 to 7 p.m. A watch party for the team, fans and media is set for 5:30-7 p.m. at Indigo Joe's, 19239 Stone Oak Parkway (just north of the intersection with Huebner Road).

The Roadrunners, who have won a school-record 24 games, advanced to their second consecutive NCAA Tournament with a 74-63 win against UT Arlington in Saturday's SLC Tournament Championship game at the Merrell Center in Katy.

The Roadrunners were led by All-SLC Tournament MVP senior forward Onika Anderson, SLC Player of the Year senior guard Monica Gibbs and All-Tournament member sophomore guard Jordan Stark. The Runners set a school record with 24 wins breaking last season's mark of 23.

For the seventh consecutive year, the ESPN family of networks will combine to present all 63 games from the NCAA Women's Basketball Championship. During the first two rounds, ESPN and ESPN2 will present the 48 contests within 12 telecast windows with home-market protection. also will offer complete-game telecasts of all pairings, while ESPNU will show select ESPN and ESPN2 early-round games in their entirety. The final 15 match-ups, from the regional semifinals on, will have national telecast windows on ESPN or ESPN2. Each regional site will feature four teams (three games) with play running March 21-24. The complete schedule is to be announced.

The first- and second-round sites have been selected as follows: The Pit/Bob King Court (Albuquerque, N.M.); Mckenzie Arena (Chattanooga, Tenn.); Nationwide Arena (Columbus, Ohio); Arena at Gwinnett (Duluth, Ga.); Galen Center (Los Angeles, Calif.); Louis Brown Athletics Center (Piscataway, N.J.); Cox Arena (San Diego, Calif.); Bank of America Arena (Seattle, Wash.); Pete Maravich Assembly Center (Baton Rouge, La.); E.A. Diddle Arena (Bowling Green, Ky.); Comcast Center (College Park, Md.); Jack Breslin Student Events Center (East Lansing, Mich.); Carver-Hawkeye Arena (Iowa City, Iowa); United Spirit Arena (Lubbock, Texas); Joyce Center (Notre Dame, Ind.); and Harry A. Gampel Pavilion (Storrs, Conn.).

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |