early-voting advocates at UTSA
UTSA employees and students endorse early voting.
(Photo by Mark McClendon)

You Decide 2009: UTSA hosts early-voting site

By Omar Hernandez
Public Affairs Specialist

(April 24, 2009)--Registered voters in Bexar County can early-vote at UTSA. Early voting for the 2009 San Antonio mayoral and city council election will run April 27-May 5 at the Main Building ground floor lobby on the UTSA Main Campus. Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to take advantage of the convenient location, along with other San Antonio voters. UTSA guests can park in designated spaces in lot 4, to the left when entering campus on John Peace Boulevard.

The UTSA Student Government Association (SGA) has consistently advocated for a UTSA early-voting site because of student requests. SGA leaders say that an on-campus site encourages students to vote and get involved in the political process. Last November, more than 8,400 Bexar County voters utilized UTSA's early-voting site, which ranked 18th of 41 poll locations.

"The benefit of voting early is that anyone who is registered to vote in Bexar County can vote at UTSA," said Albert Carrisalez, UTSA director of external affairs. "When you vote on election day, you are required to vote at your precinct, so early voting can be much more convenient."

When it is not possible for an employee to vote before or after working hours, supervisors may grant employees a reasonable period of time off for voting during business hours. Employees must be registered voters to qualify for the time off.

Time off for voting must be requested in advance and approved by a supervisor. No reduction in vacation allowance or salary will be made for the time taken to vote, as long as supervisory approval is obtained.

>> Download a list of all San Antonio early-voting sites for the May election (PDF document).

>> Download a Bexar County sample ballot (PDF document).


Early voting at UTSA and all Bexar County sites

Monday, April 27-Friday, May 1, 8 a.m.-6 p.m.
Saturday, May 2, 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
Sunday, May 3, noon-6 p.m.
Monday, May 4, 8 a.m.-8 p.m.
Tuesday, May 5, 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

Mayoral candidates (alphabetical order):

  • Laura Bustamante
  • Julian Castro
  • Diane Cibrian
  • Trish DeBerry-Mejia
  • Michael "Commander" Indrogo
  • Napoleon Madrid
  • Sheila D. McNeil
  • Julie Iris Oldham
  • Rhett R. Smith

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |