vote logo

Early-vote in District 8 at UTSA Main Campus

By Omar Hernandez
Public Affairs Specialist

(May 29, 2009)--Registered voters in San Antonio's District 8 can early-vote at UTSA. Early voting for the 2009 San Antonio city council election run-off is June 1-9 at the Main Building ground floor lobby on the UTSA Main Campus.

Faculty, staff and students can take advantage of the convenient location, along with other San Antonio voters. Guests can park in designated spaces in lot 4, off John Peace Boulevard.

The runoff for District 8 is between real estate consultant Mike Berlanga and retired oil executive Reed Williams. Both men are competing for the seat left vacant by Diane Cibrian, who made a run for mayor.

Districts 2 and 5 also will have runoff elections. However, unlike the recent mayoral or presidential election, residents can vote only in their respective districts during early voting.

>> Download a complete list of City of San Antonio early-voting locations including hours of operation.

The UTSA Student Government Association (SGA) has consistently advocated for a UTSA early-voting site because of student requests. SGA leaders say that an on-campus site encourages students to vote and get involved in the political process. Last November, more than 8,400 Bexar County voters utilized UTSA's early-voting site, which ranked 18th of 41 poll locations.

When it is not possible for an employee to vote before or after working hours, UTSA supervisors may grant employees a reasonable period of time off for voting during business hours. Employees must be registered voters to qualify for the time off.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |