gala logo
kick-off event
UTSA Reflections Alumni Gala chair Yvonne Fernandez '85 hands
Rob Killen '97 the first Power Drawing tickets purchased at the
June 23 kick-off reception for the Alumni Association board of
directors. At right is new board member Eddie De La Garza '98.

UTSA Alumni Reflections Gala honors alumni and university friends

By Marcia Mattingly
Communications Consultant, Office of Alumni Programs

(June 30, 2009)--The 10th annual UTSA Alumni Gala is Saturday, August 15, at the Westin La Cantera Hotel and Resort. With the theme "Reflections," the event is to reflect the past, present and future of UTSA. Money raised at the gala provides scholarships for UTSA students, and a portion of the proceeds benefits alumni programs and services.

"Our annual gala is a special evening when we honor and thank our alumni and university friends for all that they give to 'The Next Great Texas University,'" said 2009 Gala chair Yvonne Fernandez '85. "We would love to have a record number of alumni attending this 10th anniversary gala that supports so many UTSA student scholarships."

The Alumni Association will honor its stars during the program by presenting the Alumnus of the Year and Distinguished Service awards. Two outstanding alumni, Dr. Linda Foster, M.A. '76 and Cindy Jorgensen, M.B.A. '00, will receive the Alumnus of the Year Award. Foster is principal of Alamo Heights High School. Jorgensen is senior vice president and chief financial officer of SWBC in San Antonio.

Alfonso Barrientez III will be presented with the Distinguished Service Award. He is group vice president, U.S. warehouse operations and Mexico supply chain, for H-E-B Grocery Co.

Gala honorary chairs are Robert Crittenden and Yolanda Crittenden '92. Yolanda is vice president, leadership programs, for the North San Antonio Chamber of Commerce. Special guests at the event will be UTSA President Ricardo Romo and Dr. Harriett Romo.

Gala planning committee members are Elva Adams '95, Michelle Carrasco '84, Dinah Covert '95, Susan Hough '91, Steve Eklund '89, Albert Estrada '83, Patty Escobedo '85 '93, Carmina Reyes '07, Cathy Starnes, Ph.D. '92, Wayne Terry '85, Alicia Trevino '86, Ed Zapata '08 and Danny Zimmermann '01.

The cocktail reception at the event will feature the UTSA Jazz Ensemble. A silent auction will begin at 6:15 p.m. with dinner at 7:30 p.m. and the program at 8:20 p.m. Dress for the evening is black-tie optional for men and cocktail attire for women. Henry Brun and the Latin Playerz will provide dance music until midnight.

Table sponsorships are available: Diamond level for $5,000; Emerald level for $3,500; Ruby level for $2,500; and Sapphire level for $1,500. Diamond, Emerald and Ruby sponsors will have a student scholarship named for them for the 2010-2011 academic year. Individual tickets are $125. Each table seats eight.

The Power Drawing is a great way to contribute. Six items are guaranteed to please on this ticket. Purchase one ticket for $20 or three for $50, and you don't have to be present to win. The silent auction will feature merchandise and services from generous alumni business owners and other area friends of UTSA.

>> Make reservations for the UTSA Alumni Reflections Gala or purchase Power Drawing tickets online at the UTSA Alumni Web site or call (210) 458-4133.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |