members and advisers
Omicron Delta Kappa members and advisers

UTSA's Omicron Delta Kappa celebrates 10 years of leadership

(July 27, 2009)--The UTSA Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society (ODK) gathered May 22 to celebrate the group's 10th anniversary at a reunion dinner. Students, alumni, faculty and staff honored a decade of leadership and acknowledged past and present members. The organization's 24 charter members and faculty advisers were recognized with certificates of appreciation.

A group of UTSA leaders established the UTSA Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa on April 16, 1999. The group recognizes those who have attained a high standard in organizing collegiate activities and inspiring others to strive for the standard. Second, they bring together students representing all phases of college life, reflecting UTSA's goals of interacting with the community and other institutions of higher education. Finally, the group brings together faculty, students and Omicron Delta Kappa members to share opportunities and experiences to benefit the organization and the university community.

Attending the reunion dinner were ODK's first president, Angeles Borrego, and first faculty advisers Rex Ball and Mary Ball. Andrea Barrington, ODK 2008-2009 president, hosted the evening. Patricia Graham, executive director of the UTSA Special Events Center and active charter member since 1999, spoke about the group's 10 years of accomplishments. Charlin Jones, ODK faculty secretary, member since 2004 and adviser since 2005, also attended. These members have offered constant support to help ensure success over the life of the organization.

The evening concluded with the announcement of a new ODK alumni circle and two new scholarship programs. A goal of the alumni circle is to raise money for a book scholarship and a scholarship to cover tuition for an academic year for ODK members. ODK circle members will be eligible to apply for the scholarships. Before the evening concluded, $380 was raised for the projects.

ODK has five qualifications for membership:

  • Exemplary character: trustworthy, respectful, responsible, caring, reasonable and involved
  • Leadership including service at UTSA or in the community
  • Superior scholarship with a 3.0 GPA or higher
  • Demonstrated fellowship in the UTSA community
  • Belief in democratic ideals

For more information about the UTSA Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership Honor Society, contact Charlin Jones at (210) 458-6736.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |