alumni board members
The 2008-2009 president of the UTSA Alumni Association, Danny
Zimmermann, B.S '01, (center) congratulates the 2009-2010 president,
Rob Killen, B.S. '97, (right) at the annual planning meeting for the
association¡¦s board of directors in July. Bob McKinley, M.P.A. '98, UTSA
associate vice president for economic development, (left) moderated the
planning sessions.

UTSA Alumni Association elects new board members

By Marcia Mattingly
Communications Consultant, Office of Alumni Programs

(Aug. 3, 2009)--The UTSA Alumni Association recently elected officers for the 2009-2010 year beginning Sept. 1, and board members to serve 2009-2012.

Rob Killen, B.S. '97, was elected president. He is an attorney and vice president of Kaufman & Killen Inc. Serving as vice president is April Ancira, M.B.A. '03, vice president of Ancira Chrysler Jeep/Ancira Nissan. Elected treasurer is Melissa Aguillon, B.S. '95, M.P.A. '99, economic development manager for the City of San Antonio. At-large members are Cathy Starnes, Ph.D., B.B.A. '92, CEO, benefits consulting division of SWBC, and Yvonne Fernandez, B.B.A. '85, assistant vice president/commercial services, Security Service Federal Credit Union.

Danny Zimmermann '01 serves on the executive committee as immediate past-president of the board.

The board of directors is composed of 21 members, each of whom serve three-year terms. Each year, one third of the board members' terms expire. A board member can serve up to two consecutive terms and then must rotate off the board for at least two years.

Newly elected board members are: Inigo Arzac, B.B.A. '05, international affairs manager for the City of San Antonio; Edward De La Garza, B.S. '98, principal, Gonzalez-De La Garza & Associates Engineers; Susan Hough, M.B.A. '91, director of client services, Resources Global Professionals; Dee Ann McFarlin, B.B.A. '04, MWT/Human Resources, H-E-B; Jennifer Villarreal, B.S. '06, financial consultant, AXA Advisors; and Ed Zapata, M.B.A. '08, RE/MAX Preferred Realtors.

Re-elected to serve a second three-year term is Patty Escobedo, B.A. '85, M.A. '93, director/curriculum and instruction for Southwest Independent School District, San Antonio.

Returning board members are: Susan Campbell '89, vice president/director, American Funds/Capital Group Companies; Patrick Clynes '89, manager, BP Energy (Houston); Dinah Covert '95, owner, Accreditation & Licensing Consultants; Steven D. Eklund '89, principal, Bury+Partners; Gerardo Escamilla Jr. '98, T&D engineer II, CPS Energy; Judy Juarez '98, marketing director, Frost; Steven Langley '05, leasing manager, Nueces Energy Company; Debbie Bolner Prost '79, owner, Prost Marketing Inc.; and Alicia C. Treviño, AIA, principal, DHR Architects Inc.

Ex-officio members of the board are: Paul Ayala ?03, ?05, second year as president, Young Alumni; Matt De Leon, president, UTSA Student Government Association; Addison Lofton, president, Student Alumni Association; and Robert Lengel, UTSA faculty representative, associate dean of the UTSA Center for Professional Excellence and associate professor of management.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |