Friday, August 19, 2016


UTSA Faculty Honors Convocation is April 29

Laurel Wreath

Share this Story

(April 22, 2010)--UTSA President Ricardo Romo and Provost John Frederick will host the 2010 Faculty Honors Convocation at 10 a.m., Thursday, April 29 in the University Center Retama Auditorium (2.02.02) on the Main Campus. The event is free, and members of the UTSA community are encouraged to come celebrate the achievements of our outstanding faculty. A reception will follow the ceremony.

The convocation honors recipients of teaching, research and service awards and acknowledges recent retirees.

For more information, call the UTSA Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at 210-458-4110.


Recipients of the 2010 President's Distinguished Achievement Awards

Teaching Excellence: Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Amy Jasperson, Department of Political Science
John H. Alexander, Department of Architecture

Teaching Excellence: Non-Tenure Track Faculty
Karen Dodwell, Department of English

Research Achievement: Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Bernard Arulanandam, Department of Biology
Ashok Lalwani, Department of Marketing

Performance, Creative Production, or Other Scholarly Achievement: Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Wendy Barker, Department of English

Excellence in University Service: Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Alan Shoho, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Excellence in University Service: Non-Tenure Track Faculty
Daniel Tablada, Department of Marketing

Excellence in Community Service: Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Turgay Korkmaz, Department of Computer Science

Advancing Globalization: Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty
Norma Cantu, Department of English

Core Curriculum Teaching: Non-Tenure Track Faculty
Ermine F. Orta, Department of Management Science and Statistics



UTSA's Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA's Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA's Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

Connect with UTSA News


Related Links

Back to Top

©2018 The University of Texas at San Antonio  | One UTSA Circle San Antonio, TX 78249 | Information 210-458-4011

Produced by University Communications and Marketing