Tuesday, August 04, 2015

UTSA President Ricardo Romo establishes President's Student Leadership Council

Student Leadership Council

With Sonia Martinez, special assistant to the president, and Diana Cisneros, budget specialist in the Office of the President, (at left) and President Ricardo Romo (at right) are the President's Leadership Council members.

Share this Story

(Nov. 14, 2013) -- UTSA President Ricardo Romo has established the President's Student Leadership Council, which will meet twice each semester to provide input on university projects and programs. From a field of more than 80 nominations received from various university administrators including the college deans, Romo selected 21 students to serve for one academic year on the new council.

"I was impressed with the academic rigor and extracurricular involvement shown by all of the students who were nominated, and it was a challenge to select the council," said Romo. "These exceptional Roadrunners will serve as a voice for our students and provide valuable guidance in shaping programs and policies. This is all about enhancing the Roadrunner experience and helping students be successful. I welcome the students to this prestigious group and look forward to their participation."

Romo noted that student input is responsible for many changes on campus including the major remodeling of the John Peace Library, the creation of the bookless library in the Applied Engineering and Technology Building, establishing UTSA football and adding dining venues, among many other projects.

In the first meeting on Oct. 30, the students introduced themselves and discussed what they hoped to offer and learn from the group. One council member mentioned excitement about the increase in school spirit encouraging involvement on campus. Another noted that as a result of creating more activities for students, there is a greater sense of community. Another commented on the need for events for non-traditional students who work and go to school.

Romo said students are largely responsible for the development of new on-campus residence facilities, which have transformed campus life. He noted that the council also will provide opportunities for peer networking and gaining knowledge about UTSA.

For more information on the council, contact Diana Cisneros in the Office of the President at 210-458-4101.

The members of the inaugural President's Student Leadership Council (and their majors) are:

  • Hannah Beck, Political Science
  • Jose Camacho, Economics
  • Salina Cram, Psychology
  • Zack Dunn, Finance (Student Government Association president)
  • Kaylee Hernandez, Modern Language Studies
  • Sonya Hernandez, Mexican-American Studies
  • K'Lynn Howell, Multidisciplinary Studies
  • Wendi Klupenger, Education
  • Kyle Lemere, Communication
  • Nate Leonard, Kinesiology
  • DeMarcus Lewis, Mathematics
  • Ediri Nesiama, Biology
  • Erick Ramirez, Marketing/Management
  • Lukas Sehlke, Communication
  • Carlos Serrano, Architecture
  • Chris Stewart, Public Administration
  • Christian Trevino, Mechanical Engineering
  • Christian Ume-Ezeoke, Community Health
  • Ta'Mara Williams, Electrical Engineering
  • Darryl Wyrick, Sociology
  • David Zhang, Biomedical Engineering



Did You Know?

For acclaimed UTSA writer, poetry rhymes with life

Robert Penn Warren said: “How do poems grow? They grow out of your life.” That is certainly true for Carmen Tafolla. An associate professor of practice with the UTSA College of Education and Human Development, Tafolla has authored more than 20 acclaimed books of poetry and prose, including "The Holy Tortilla and a Pot of Beans." It won the Tom´s Rivera Children’s Book Award in 2009.

Tafolla is a San Antonio native who grew up on the West Side. Attending a private high school, she realized that the literature did not positively portray her community or the people who lived there. She determined to change that in her writing. In published works for both adults and children — more than 200 anthologies, magazines, journals, textbooks and readers in four languages — Tafolla reflects on the rich Mexican-American culture of San Antonio in which she grew up.

Did you know? Tafolla was San Antonio's first Poet Laureate, from 2012 to 2014, and currently serves as the Poet Laureate of Texas.

Read More »
Aug. 4, 6 - 8 p.m.

Free Teacher Tuesday: Los Tejanos Workshop

Discover resources and strategies for teaching Tejano history and culture and get a special educator's tour of the new long-term exhibit, Los Tejanos.
Institute of Texan Cultures, 801 E. Cesar E. Chavez Blvd.

Aug. 6, 5 - 7 p.m.; 9 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

6th Annual Texas Higher Education Symposium

This annual symposium is an opportunity to discuss Texas higher education issues and trends with Texas higher education scholars, state and local government officials, students, and campus and local community members.
Downtown Campus

Aug. 9, 12 - 5 p.m.

Vaquerocation 2015

This cowboy-themed programming, offered in conjunction with Our Kids Magazine's Kidcation Week, gives families the opportunity to visit with cowboy docents, enjoy readings and visit activity tables.
Institute of Texan Cultures, 801 E. Cesar E. Chavez Blvd.

Aug. 17, 11:30 p.m.

Midnight Light

Join President Ricardo Romo, The Spirit of San Antonio Marching Band, students, faculty and staff to light the monument at the Main Campus entrance at the stroke of midnight.
John Peace Boulevard Entrance, Main Campus

Aug. 18, 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.

President's BBQ on the Plaza

Join university President Ricardo Romo on the Bill Miller Plaza for his annual free BBQ lunch.
Bill Miller Plaza, Downtown Campus

Aug. 18, 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.

President's BBQ on the Lawn

Join university President Ricardo Romo on the Convocation Center lawn for his annual free BBQ lunch.
Convocation Center East Lawn, Main Campus

Aug. 22, 6 p.m.

UTSA Alumni Gala

The UTSA Alumni Association hosts this annual gala honoring the Alumna of the Year, Alumnus of the Year and the Alumnus of the Year Lifetime Achievement award winners.
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort & Spa, 9800 Hyatt Resort Dr.

Other Calendars
» UTSA Events | » Academic | » Institute of Texan Cultures

Submit an Event

Meet a Roadrunner

Ernest Bromley '78, '80 one of UTSA's first students, takes on the world

Shrugging off retirement, the Bromley founder plans to earn a PhD and complete a 375-mile race

UTSA's Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA's Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA's Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

Connect with UTSA News


Related Links

Back to Top