Friday, August 19, 2016


UTSA seeks prestigious Carnegie community engagement classification

Carnegie Foundation logo

Share this Story

(May 1, 2014) -- Every five years, the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching selects colleges and universities to be classified as "institutions of community engagement." UTSA submitted the comprehensive application package in April and now seeks to be among the institutions recognized in January 2015. In order to retain their classification status, institutions must reapply every 10 years.

The elective classification is based on voluntary participation and, according to the Carnegie Foundation, "provides a way for institutions to describe their identity and commitments to community with a public and nationally recognized classification."

A UTSA task force led by Robert McKinley, associate vice president for economic development, oversaw the process.

"The application for the Carnegie community engagement classification truly is a joint effort of all UTSA colleges and departments," said McKinley. "We were required to submit an extensive data collection and documentation of mission statements, budget specifics, infrastructure and strategic planning. Analyzing our own efforts showed us how widespread community engagement at UTSA is, while we also identified opportunities to do even more."

Jude Valdez, vice president for community services, added, "The Carnegie classification will reaffirm UTSA's substantial commitment to improve the quality of life for individuals and the community, complementing our ongoing endeavors as a top-tier university."

For more information on community engagement at UTSA, visit the UTSA Community Services website.



UTSA's Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA's Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA's Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

Connect with UTSA News


Related Links

Back to Top

©2018 The University of Texas at San Antonio  | One UTSA Circle San Antonio, TX 78249 | Information 210-458-4011

Produced by University Communications and Marketing