UTSA McNair scholars honored at graduation and induction luncheon

McNair scholars

Pictured from left are McNair scholars Marissa Mendoza, James White, Laurel Jackson-Cook and Edgar Sherman

Share this Story

(March 27, 2014) -- UTSA Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program administrators and staff recently recognized the academic achievements of six senior scholars at a graduation and induction luncheon on the UTSA Main Campus.

The graduates honored included Cherrys Parrot, Marissa Mendoza, James White, Laurel Jackson-Cook, Victoria Olivo and Edgar Sherman.

In addition, the graduating seniors welcomed the new inductees with the pinning of the McNair Scholar pin, symbolizing the passing of the torch of knowledge.

The new inductees are Malinda Surprise, Karla Cruz, Angel Olalde, Jocelyn Carnicle, Phillip Valladolid, Danequa Flemon, Miranda Salinas and Gabriel Diamante.

The luncheon featured remarks from UTSA faculty member Lapetra Bowman. Bowman, a former UTSA McNair Scholar, described how she completed her McNair journey by attaining her doctoral degree. She offered words of wisdom and advice to the graduating seniors and new inductees.

Several awards also were distributed including the Ronald E. McNair Award, which went to Edgar Sherman, who will begin his graduate studies this fall at Emory University. Program manager Linda Leech and McNair graduate assistant Cynthia Rodriguez also were recognized with a plaque of appreciation for their dedication and support of the program.

The McNair program, funded by the U.S. Department of Education, helps prepare low-income and first-generation and underrepresented undergraduates for graduate study at the doctoral level. McNair scholars receive guidance in completing their undergraduate requirements and encouragement to enter graduate programs.


For more information contact Darrell Balderrama at 210-458-4284.