Friday, August 19, 2016


UT regents recognize UTSA faculty for outstanding teaching

bibliotech graphic

Share this Story

(July 31, 2015) -- Seven UTSA faculty have been selected to receive Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards from the University of Texas System for 2015.

The UTSA award recipients represent six different departments and five colleges. They are:

Kathryn Brown, associate professor, Department of Anthropology (COLFA)

Kirsten Gardner, associate professor, Department of History (COLFA)

Patricia Jaramillo, lecturer, Department of Public Administration (COPP)

Jerome Keating, professor, Department of Management Science & Statistics (COB)

Ram Krishnan, assistant professor, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering (COE)

Deborah Moon Wagner, lecturer, Department of Anthropology (COLFA)

Valerie Sponsel, professor, Department of Biology (COS)

They are among 79 faculty from the 15 academic and health institutions that comprise the UT System to receive Regents' Awards for 2015. Recipients will be recognized formally Aug. 19 in Austin.

With the 2015 recipients, 40 UTSA faculty now have received Regents' Awards in recognition of extraordinary classroom performance and innovation in undergraduate instruction. Nominees undergo a series of rigorous evaluations by students, peer faculty and external reviewers. The review panels consider a range of activities and criteria in their evaluations of a candidate's teaching performance, including classroom expertise, curricula quality, innovative course development and student learning outcomes.

"The Regents' Awards program is extremely competitive, and I want to congratulate this year's recipients on their success. Moreover, I want to thank them for the enthusiasm they bring to their work every day," said John H. Frederick, UTSA provost and vice president for academic affairs. "These educators represent diverse disciplines and use a variety of teaching methods in their classrooms. But what they all do have in common is an abiding commitment to the success of their students, and with that, an earnestness about being lifelong learners themselves."

The Regents' Awards were established in 2008 and, with a monetary award of $25,000, are among the largest in the nation for rewarding outstanding faculty performance.

"These amazing educators are responsible for helping to prepare the next generation of great leaders," Regents Chairman Paul Foster said. "With a total award of more than $1.9 million this year, no other university system in the nation is making this kind of an investment in rewarding outstanding faculty. The efforts of these faculty members significantly enhance the educational experiences of our students and the UT Board of Regents is pleased to have this opportunity to honor them."

By virtue of their selection for the 2015 Regents' Awards, the seven UTSA recipients also will be inducted into the university's Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars later this fall.


Learn more about the Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards.

Connect online with UTSA on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube and Instagram.



UTSA's Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA's Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA's Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

Connect with UTSA News


Related Links

Back to Top

©2018 The University of Texas at San Antonio  | One UTSA Circle San Antonio, TX 78249 | Information 210-458-4011

Produced by University Communications and Marketing