Sunday, January 20, 2019

UTSA to host Texas House Select Committee on Cybersecurity hearing today

UTSA to host Texas House Select Committee on Cybersecurity hearing today

(May 16, 2018) -- Texas state lawmakers are turning to UTSA for its expertise in cybersecurity. The newly created Texas House Select Committee on Cybersecurity is holding a public hearing at UTSA today at 1 p.m. in the Student Union Retama Auditorium (SU 2.02.02) on the UTSA Main Campus. 

            >> Watch the hearing.

In House Bill 8, the Texas Cybersecurity Act, Speaker of the Texas House Joe Straus directed the committee to determine the state of cybersecurity at the local, state and federal levels including risks, incidents, preventative measures and advancements in detection. The committee has also been tasked with learning about cybersecurity education, curriculum, training, workforce and outreach to increase interest in technology career fields.

At today’s hearing, the committee will receive valuable information from some of the greatest experts in the industry about how Texas cities can best protect themselves from data breaches and security threats.

Gregory B. White, UTSA professor of computer science and the director of the UTSA Center for Infrastructure Assurance and Security, will provide testimony on UTSA’s cybersecurity efforts. Other experts giving testimony include:

  • Todd Kimbriel, deputy executive director, Texas Department of Information Resources
  • Brigadier General Greg Chaney, director of the Joint Staff, Texas Military Department
  • Colonel Teresa Cogswell, J6 chief information officer, Texas Military Department
  • Lieutenant Colonel Kristy Leasman, commander of the 273rd Cyber Operations Squadron, Texas Military Department
  • Jim Perschbach, interim CEO, Port San Antonio
  • Will Garrett, vice president of cybersecurity, San Antonio Chamber of Commerce
  • Sid Hudson, chief information officer, City of McKinney, and president of the Texas Association of Governmental Information Technology Managers
  • Gregg Cannon, director of IT, Grimes County
  • David Abarca, professor of computer science, engineering and advanced technology, Del Mar College
  • Joe Sanchez, executive director, CyberTexas Foundation
  • Sarah Matz, director of State Government Affairs, Southern Region, Computing Technology Industry Association
  • Chris Humphreys, The Anfield Group, Texas Cybersecurity Council
  • Bob Butler, AECOM Management Services, Texas Cybersecurity Council

State Representative Ina Minjarez (District 124) serves on the committee and advocated for UTSA to host the hearing.

UTSA is home to the nation’s top cybersecurity program, an interdisciplinary approach that spans business, science, engineering, and liberal and fine arts. Four centers and institutes advance the university’s work, which focuses on solving global security challenges in today’s increasingly technological world.

- Tammy Fernandez-Ramos

Learn more about cybersecurity at UTSA.

Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn.

UTSA Today is produced by University Communications and Marketing, the official news source of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Send your feedback to Keep up-to-date on UTSA news by visiting UTSA Today. Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram.


UTSA's Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA's Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA's Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.