Biology logo

 

Faculty


Adjoint  |  Emeritus

Emmanuel Akwar
Emmanuel Akwar

Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-7899
Email: Emmanuel.Akwar@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry
  • General Physiology
Alfonso Apicella
Alfonso Apicella

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4543
Email: Alfonso.Apicella@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cortical Microcircuit Physiology
Bernard Arulanandam
Bernard Arulanandam

Professor and Vice President for Research, Economic Development, and Knowledge Enterprise

Phone: (210) 458-5492
Email: Bernard.Arulanandam@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cellular Immunology
  • Microbial Pathogenesis
  • Mucosal Immunity
Edwin Barea-Rodriguez
Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez

Professor and Associate Dean for Student Success

Phone: (210) 458-5481
Email: Edwin.Barea@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Learning and Memory
  • Neuroscience
  • Science Education
Anthony Burgos-Robles
Anthony Burgos-Robles

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5661
Email: Anthony.Burgos-Robles@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cortical and Amygdala Circuits
  • Emotion
  • Learning and Memory
  • Motivation
  • Stress
Hong Cai
Hong Cai

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6493
Email: Hong.Cai@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinformatics
  • Genomic Signal Processing
  • Systems Biology
Astrid Cardona
Astrid E. Cardona

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5071
Email: Astrid.Cardona@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Neuroinflammation and Mechanisms of Tissue Damage in Diabetic Retinopathy and Multiple Sclerosis
  • Neuroprotective Approaches via Modulation of Innate Immune Function
Sandra Cardona
Sandra Cardona

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-4089
Email: Sandra.Cardona@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Function of Glial Cells in Neuroinflammation
  • Neurodegeneration during Multiple Sclerosis and Diabetic Retinopathy
Melanie Carless
Melanie Carless

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7017
Email: Melanie.Carless@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cardiometabolic Risk
  • Epigenetics
  • Neurological and Psychiatric Disorders
  • Stem Cells
Aaron Cassill
J. Aaron Cassill

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5491
Email: Aaron.Cassill@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Student Success in STEM
James Chambers
James P. Chambers

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5477
Email: James.Chambers@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Acinetobaster baumannii Enzymology
  • Biosensor Sensing Element Development
  • Francisella tularensis Enzymology
  • Glycoconjugate Isolation/Characterization
  • Influenza Nucleic Acid Based Detection
Ashok Chaturvedi
Ashok Chaturvedi

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: Ashok.Chaturvedi@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Fungal Biofilm
  • Fungal Proteomics
  • Immunology
Susan Dalterio
Susan Dalterio

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5924
Email: Susan.Dalterio@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Drugs and Society
  • Introductory Biology
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
Jurgen Engelberth
Jurgen Engelberth

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7831
Email: Jurgen.Engelberth@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Metabolic Analysis of Signaling Compounds
  • Regulation Pathway Leading to Jasmonic Acid Production
Mark Eppinger
Mark Eppinger

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6276
Email: Mark.Eppinger@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinformatics
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Microbial Genomics
Thomas Forsthuber
Thomas G. Forsthuber

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5760
Email: Thomas.Forsthuber@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Mechanisms Promoting Autoimmune Diseases
  • Translational Research That Can Be Directly Applied
Chris Gamblin
T. Chris Gamblin

Professor

Email: Truman.Gamblin@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Electron Microscopy
  • Neurodegeneration
  • Protein Biochemistry
  • Protein Misfolding and Aggregation
Jesus Garza-Decanini
Jesus Garza-Decanini

Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-7496
Email: Jesus.Garza-Decanini@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Human Anatomy
  • Physiology
Gary Gaufo
Gary Gaufo

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7196
Email: Gary.Gaufo@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Molecular and Cellular Approaches in Neural Development
Neal Guentzel
M. Neal Guentzel

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4473
Email: Neal.Guentzel@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Acinetobacter baumanii
  • Chlamydia trachomatis
  • Francisella tularensis
  • Microbial Pathogenesis
  • Microscopy
  • Vaccines
Jennifer Guerrero
Jennifer Guerrero

Lecturer II

Email: Jennifer.Guerrero@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Plant Virology
  • Teaching Biology Labs
Michael Hanna
Michael Hanna

Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-4509
Email: Michael.Hanna@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell and Molecular Biology
  • Immunology
  • Neuroscience
Kirsten Hanson
Kirsten Hanson

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5904
Email: Kirsten.Hanson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Antimalarial Drug Discovery
  • Automated high Content Imaging
  • Host-Parasite Interactions
  • Plasmodium Cell and Developmental Biology
Luis Haro
Luis S. Haro

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5484
Email: Luis.Haro@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry
  • Endocrinology
  • Molecular Biology
Tanoya Harris
Tanoya Harris

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-5923
Email: Tanoya.Harris@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Anthracycline Cardiotoxicity
  • Hormone Cardioprotection against Heart Failure and Ischemic Myocardial Injury
  • Human Anatomy and Physiology
Hans Heidner
Hans W. Heidner

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5767
Email: Hans.Heidner@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alphavirus-Based Vectors for Cell Targeting and Vaccine Applications and Development
  • Replication of Alphaviruses
Brian Hermann
Brian P. Hermann

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8047
Email: Brian.Hermann@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Male Infertility and Fertility Preservation
  • Single-Cell Gene Expression
  • Spermatogonial Stem Cells
Eddie Hernandez
Eddie Hernandez

Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-5661
Email: Hector.Hernandez@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cardiovascular Physiology
  • Diabetes Mellitus and Renal Disease
  • Human Anatomy and Physiology
Mariah Hopkins
Mariah Hopkins

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-6569
Email: Mariah.Hopkins@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior
  • Spatial Data Analysis and GIS
  • Wildlife Epidemiology and Public Health
Jenny Hsieh
Jenny Hsieh

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4707
Email: Jenny.Hsieh@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epilepsy
  • Neurogenesis
  • Stem Cells
Chiung-Yu Hung
Chiung-Yu Hung

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7018
Email: Chiungyu.Hung@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Fungal Immunology
  • Fungal Pathogenesis
  • Medical Mycology
  • Vaccine Development
David Jaffe
David B. Jaffe

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5843
Email: David.Jaffe@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epilepsy
  • Hippocampal Function and Alzheimer's Disease
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Synaptic and Axonal Signal Integration
Amy Jones
Amy Jones

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-5156
Email: Amy.Jones@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Genetics
Karl Klose
Karl E. Klose

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6140
Email: Karl.Klose@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bacterial Pathogenesis
  • Francisella tularensis
  • Vibrio cholerae
Richard LeBaron
Richard LeBaron

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5841
Email: Richard.Lebaron@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Adhesion; Cell Biology
  • Disorders of the Temporomandibular Joint
  • Extracellular Matrix Molecules in Cancers and Diabetes Complications
  • Regenerative Medicine; Tissue Regeneration
Hyoung-gon Lee
Hyoung-gon Lee

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5088
Email: Hyoung-gon.Lee@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Neurobiology
  • Neurodegeneration
Soo Chan Lee
Soo Chan Lee

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5398
Email: Soochan.Lee@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Fungal Morphogenesis
  • Host-Pathogen Interactions
  • Medical Mycology
  • Mucormycosis
  • Mycobiome
Annie Lin
Chin-Hsing Annie Lin

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8534
Email: Annie.Lin@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Functional Genomics
  • Stem Cell and Cancer Biology
Jose Lopez-Ribot
Jose L. Lopez-Ribot

Professor and Associate Dean for Research

Phone: (210) 458-7022
Email: Jose.LopezRibot@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Antifungal Drug Development
  • High Throughput Screening
  • Immunopathogenesis of Fungal Infections
  • Medical Mycology
  • Microbial Biofilms
Martha Lundell
Martha J. Lundell

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5769
Email: Martha.Lundell@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Drosophila Molecular Genetics
  • Specification of Neuronal Cell Fate
Lindsey Macpherson
Lindsey Macpherson

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7845
Email: Lindsey.Macpherson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Circuit Mapping
  • Functional Imaging Techniques
  • Sensory Neuroscience
John McCarrey
John R. McCarrey

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4507
Email: John.McCarrey@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epigenetic Regulation of Cell Functions
  • Mammalian Germ Cells and Stem Cells
Isabel Muzzio
Isabel A. Muzzio

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4810
Email: Isabel.Muzzio@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Aging
  • Animal Cognition
  • Learning and Memory
  • Sleep and Memory
  • Spatial Navigation
Christopher Navara
Christopher Navara

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6497
Email: Christopher.Navara@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Cycle Regulation in Stem Cells
  • Human and Non-Human Primate Pluripotent Stem Cells
  • Mesenchymal Stem Cell Growth and Differentiation
  • Neuronal Differentiation of Pluripotent Stem Cells
Richard Nuckels
Richard Nuckels

Lecturer II and Lab Coordinator

Phone: (210) 458-7206
Email: Richard.Nuckels@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Genetics
  • Molecular Evolution
Carlos Paladini
Carlos A. Paladini

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4474
Email: Carlos.Paladini@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Dopaminergic Neuron Physiology
George Perry
George Perry

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8660
Email: George.Perry@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Neurobiology
  • Oxidative Stress
Clyde Phelix
Clyde F. Phelix

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5495
Email: Clyde.Phelix@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease and Diabetes Mellitus
  • Computational Biology
  • Intellectual Property, Biotechnology, Commercialization
  • Predictive Biosimulations
  • Translational Sciences
Germán Plascencia Villa
Germán Plascencia Villa

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7043
Email: German.PlascenciaVilla@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Advanced Microscopy Techniques
  • Analytical Techniques of Proteins
  • Neuronal Responses
no photo available
Salma Quraishi

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7493
Email: Salma.Quraishi@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Neuroscience
Rahul Raghavan
Rahul Raghavan

Associate Professor

Email: Rahul.Raghavan@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Coxiella burnetii Evolution and Virulence
  • Microbial Genomics
  • Regulatory RNA Evolution and Function
  • Tick Endosymbionts Evolution and Function
William Ramos
William Ramos

Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-6235
Email: William.Ramos@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Biology Lab Coordinator
  • Hazardous Materials Authorized Shipper
  • RISE Training Specialist
RobertRenthal
Robert D. Renthal

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5452
Email: Robert.Renthal@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry and Biophysics of Cell Membranes
  • Insect Chemical Communication
  • Lanthanide Tags in Live Bacterial Cells
Andrew Rodriguez
Andrew Rodriguez

Lecturer I

Email: Andrew.Rodriguez@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Microbiology
  • Molecular Genetics
  • Mycology
  • Plant Pathology
James Allen Rogers
James Allen Rogers

Lecturer II and Lab Coordinator

Phone: (210) 458-3990
Email: James.Rogers3@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biosciences II Labs
Fidel Santamaria
Fidel Santamaria

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6910
Email: Fidel.Santamaria@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Experiments and Modeling of Cerebellar Function
  • Learning and Memory
  • Modeling Power-Law Behavior from Molecules to Behavior
Francesco Savelli
Francesco Savelli

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8066
Email: Francesco.Savelli@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Neural Basis of Navigation
  • Neural Circuits and Behavior
  • Neurophysiology and Function of the Hippocampal Formation
Stephen Saville
Stephen P. Saville

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: Stephen.Saville@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Genetic Regulation of Candida albicans Cell Shape
  • Role of Morphogenetic and Associated Changes in Candida albicans Virulence
David Senseman
David M. Senseman

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5485
Email: David.Senseman@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Visualization and Modeling of Cortical Network Activity
Janakiram Seshu
Janakiram Seshu

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6578
Email: J.Seshu@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Lyme Disease
  • Q-Fever
Kenneth Shahi
Kenneth Shahi

Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-5475
Email: Kenneth.Shahi@utsa.eduv
Areas of Specialization

  • Microbial Ecology
  • Public Health Microbiology
Sara Shields-Menard
Sara Shields-Menard

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-3990
Email: Sara.Shields-Menard@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biofuels
  • Bioremediation
  • Biosciences II Lab
  • Diversity and Inclusion in STEM
  • Environmental and Industrial Microbiology
Valerie Sponsel
Valerie Sponsel

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5929
Email: Valerie.Sponsel@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Medicinal Plants
  • Plant Growth and Development
  • Plant Hormones
Matthew Spottswood
Matthew Spottswood

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-5156
Email: Matthew.Spottswood@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Genetics Labs
Garry Sunter
Garry Sunter

Professor and Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5479
Email: Garry.Sunter@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epigenetics
  • Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Plant Virology
  • Transcription
Kelly Suter
Kelly J. Suter

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7243
Email: Kelly.Suter@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Neural Oscillator Control of Sexual Reproduction
Todd Troyer
Todd W. Troyer

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5487
Email: Todd.Troyer@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Behavioral and Neural Dynamics
  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Noise and Sychnronization in Neural Circuits
  • Songbird Learning
Matthew Wanat
Matthew Wanat

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6684
Email: Matthew.Wanat@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Drug Addiction
  • Learning and Memory
  • Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior
  • Stress
Yufeng Wang
Yufeng Wang

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6492
Email: Yufeng.Wang@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
  • Comparative Genomics
  • Molecular Evolution and Population Genetics
  • Systems Biology
Nicole Wicha
Nicole Y. Wicha

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7013
Email: Nicole.Wicha@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Human Electrophysiology
  • Language and Math Cognition
  • Neurobiology of Human Language
Charles Wilson
Charles J. Wilson

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5654
Email: Charles.Wilson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Brain Stimulation as a Treatment for Neurological Disease
  • Computational Function of Neuron
  • Ionic Mechanisms of Autonomous Brain Activity
  • Structure and Functions of the Basal Ganglia
  • Synaptic Integration and Neuronal Information Processing
Jieh-Juen Yu
Jieh-Juen Yu

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-5210
Email: Jiehjuen.Yu@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Mucosal Immunity
  • Vaccine Development against Bacterial Infection
Guoquan Zhang
Guoquan Zhang

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7020
Email: Guoquan.Zhang@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Immunology
  • Vaccine Development
  • Vector-Borne, Emerging, and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases
Yan Zhang
Yan Zhang

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7020
Email: Yan.Zhang@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Developing Vaccines against Cancer and Infectious Diseases
  • Mechanisms of Host Cell-Microbial Pathogen Interaction
Xhavit Zogaj
Xhavit Zogaj

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7033
Email: Xhavit.Zogaj@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bacterial Biofilms
  • Vaccine Development against Tularemia

Adjoint

Texas Biomedical Research Institute (TBRI)

The Texas Biomedical Research Institute aims to unravel the mysteries of chronic and infectious diseases through innovative thinking, creative problem solving, and cutting edge technologies. Learn more about our adjoint faculty from TBRI.

United States Army Institute of Surgical Research (USAISR)

The United States Army Institute of Surgical Research's mission is optimizing combat casualty care. The Institute has utilized its expertise by caring for burn casualties from every conflict since World War II and continues to serve as the primary Combat Casualty Care research facility for the Army. Learn more about our adjoint faculty from USAISR.

Floyd Wormley Jr
Floyd L. Wormley Jr.

Associate Provost for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies

Texas Christian University
Email: floyd.wormley@tcu.edu

Emeritus

Judy Teale
Judy M. Teale

Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-7024
Email: Judy.Teale@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Neurocysticercosis
Oscar Van Auken
Oscar W. Van Auken

Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5489
Email: Oscar.Vanauken@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Physiological Plant Ecology

 

© The University of Texas at San Antonio