Wicha Lab: Brain, Language, and Cognition

 

Current Lab Members

 

group photo

 

Dr. Nicole Wicha
Nicole Wicha, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
Dr. Rocío Norman
Rocío Norman, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
visiting researcher

Dr. Norman is an Assistant Professor at UT Health San Antonio and a visiting researcher at UTSA. Her program of research aims to understand the neural correlates to language deficits in individuals with mild traumatic brain injury.
NormanR@uthscsa.edu

Matthew Wood
Matthew Wood

Matthew is a Ph.D. student who is interested in how children process math facts using both event-related potentials and time-frequency analysis of EEG data. He received his M.S. in Applied Cognition and Neuroscience from the University of Texas at Dallas.
Matthew.Wood@utsa.edu

Amandine Grenier
Amandine Grenier

Amandine received her B.S. with a concentration in Neurobiology from UTSA. She is currently a 4th year Neurobiology Ph.D. student. Her research uses event-related potentials (ERPs) to determine how arithmetic facts are processed and organized in memory in elementary school children. She is currently the acting manager of the lab.
Amandine.Grenier@utsa.edu

Vanessa Cerda
Vanessa Cerda

Vanessa received her B.S. in Biology from The University of Texas at Austin. She is currently a 4th year Neurobiology Ph.D. student. Her dissertation is focused on the neural basis of arithmetic in Spanish-English bilingual children and adults.
Vanessa.Cerda2@utsa.edu

Tara Flaugher
Tara Flaugher

Tara received her B.S. in Biology from Texas State University. She is currently a Ph.D. student in neurobiology who is interested in studying language processing in clinical and bilingual populations.
Tara.Flaugher@utsa.edu

Selena Magallanes
Selena Magallanes

Selena received her B.S. in Psychology with a minor in Biology from UTSA. She is currently a M.S. biology student with a concentration in neurobiology. She is interested in learning more about how motor planning impacts electrophysiological recordings.
Selena.Magallanes@utsa.edu

Paola Montufar Soria
Paola Montufar Soria

Paola is a senior in the Honors College majoring in psychology with a minor in biology. She is currently in the process of completing a thesis entitled "Two times four equals dos por cuatro: A study of memory for arithmetic in bilinguals."
Paola.MontufarSoria@utsa.edu

Sofia Santillan Wilson
Sofia Santillan Wilson

Sofia received her B.A. in Psychology from UTSA. She is currently a M.S. student in the Clinical Mental Health Counseling program at UTSA. Sofia is interested in studying children's academic achievement by looking at performance on standardized assessments in arithmetic and language fluency.
Sofia.Santillan@utsa.edu