College of Sciences

Department of Geological Sciences

 

Effective August 23, 2021, the Department of Geological Sciences has been renamed.
It is now the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences.
Please go to our new website for the most current information.

 

Faculty


Emeritus  |  Affiliated  |  Postdocs

Stephen Ackley
Stephen Ackley
Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6793
Email: Stephen.Ackley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Antarctic Sea Ice
  • Sea Ice Specialist
Matt Cannon
John (Matt) Cannon, Ph.D.
Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-8596
Email: John.Cannon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Structural Geology
  • Tectonic Geomorphology
Sandy Cannon
Sandy Cannon
Lecturer I

Email: Sandy.Cannon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Petroleum Geology
  • Sedimentology
  • Subsurface Mapping
  • Well Log Analysis
Saugata Datta
Saugata Datta, Ph.D.
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4752
Email: Saugata.Datta@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Chemical Hydrogeology
  • Low Temperature Geochemistry
Yongli Gao
Yongli Gao, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7029
Email: Yongli.Gao@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Geology
  • Hydrogeology
Alexis Godet
Alexis Godet, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4782
Email: Alexis.Godet@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Sedimentology
  • Stratigraphy
Judy Haschenburger
Judy Haschenburger, Ph.D.
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4553
Email: Judy.Haschenburger@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Geomorphology
  • Sediment Transport Processes
Lance Lambert
Lance Lambert, Ph.D.
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5441
Email: Lance.Lambert@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Carbonate Petrology
  • Paleontology
  • Petroleum Geology
  • Stratigraphy
Newfel Mazari
Newfel Mazari, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-8161
Email: Newfel.Mazari@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • GIS/Remote Sensing
  • Third Planet
Alberto Mestas-Nuñez
Alberto Mestas-Nuñez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-6690
Email: Alberto.Mestas@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Physical Oceanography
  • Remote Sensing
Janet Vote
Janet Vote
Lecturer II and ACUE Fellow

Phone: (210) 458-5778
Email: Janet.Vote@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Earth History
  • Paleontology
  • Physical Geology
Blake Weissling
Blake Weissling, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-8128
Email: Blake.Weissling@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Cryosphere
  • Remote Sensing
  • Surface Water Hydrology
Alan Whittington
Alan Whittington, Ph.D.
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5458
Email: Alan.Whittington@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Petrology
  • Planetary Geology
  • Volcanology
Hongjie Xie
Hongjie Xie, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5445
Email: Hongjie.Xie@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Polar and Climate Science
  • Remote Sensing, Geoinformatics
  • Surface Water and Hydrology

Emeritus

Stuart Birnbaum
Stuart Birnbaum, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5449
Email: Stuart.Birnbaum@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Geomicrobiology
Alan Dutton
Alan Dutton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5746
Email: Alan.Dutton@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Hydrogeology
Weldon Hammond
Weldon Hammond, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5471
Email: Weldon.Hammond@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Hydrogeology
no photo available
Robert Smith, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-4553
Email: Robert.Smith1@utsa.edu

Eric Swanson
Eric Swanson, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Email: Eric.Swanson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Volcanic Stratigraphy
  • Volcanism

Affiliated

Alfonso Fernandez
Alfonso Fernandez, Ph.D.

Universidad de Concepción, Chile

alfernandez@udec.cl
Mountain GeoScience Group

Areas of Specialization

  • Cryosphere
  • Hydroclimatic Changes
  • Mountain Environments
Walter Gray
Walter Gray, Ph.D.

Walter.Gray@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Mineralogy/Petrology
  • Plate Tectonics
Marina Suarez
Marina Suarez, Ph.D.

University of Kansas

mb.suarez@ku.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Paleoclimate

 

Postdocs

Harshad V. Kulkarni, Ph.D. - Chemical Hydrology and Mass Spectrometry Laboratory
Chang Hsin Chen, Ph.D. - Center for Advanced Measurements in Extreme Environments
Grant Macdonald, Ph.D. - Center for Advanced Measurements in Extreme Environments
Anis Parsapoor, Ph.D. - Dr. Alan Whittington Laboratory

 

© The University of Texas at San Antonio