The University of Texas at San Antonio

# **UTSA** Campus Services

Parking & Traffic Committee Minutes Campus Services, Crespa Service Center 1.01.52 Wednesday, September 14, 2016 10:03AM-10:53AM

### In Attendance:

## **Voting Members:**

John Shaffer Chair/Staff Norma Guerra Faculty Richard LeBaron Faculty Gail Pizzola Faculty William Land Faculty Lisa Johns Staff Jennifer Latta Staff Brian Jantz Staff Kate Falconer Student

## **Ex-Officio Members and Staff Support (non-voting):**

Joseph Stilwill
Douglas Sonego
Kathleen Carter-Stiggers
Clay Haverland
Burt Reynolds
Physical Plant
University Police
Human Resources
Campus Services
Campus Services

#### Absent:

# Voting Members:

Alifya Musa Student Kelly Zoch Student Aaron Pulido Student

#### **Ex-Officio Members and Staff Support:**

Kathryn Funk-Baxter VP Business Affairs Craig Saucier Alumni Programs

- I. Call Meeting to Order John Shaffer
- II. Committee Mission Read by Lisa Johns
- III. Introductions Committee Members Individual Introductions
- IV. Overview of Committee structure and purpose

The charge of this committee is to review the Parking and Traffic Regulations for the University of Texas at San Antonio, UTSA Downtown, and the Institute of Texan Cultures. A major responsibility of this committee is to develop recommendations for revisions in the parking regulation as are necessary to ensure an efficient and safe parking and traffic system. Considerations may include permit and enforcement fees, parking zones, bicycles and motorcycle traffic, and pedestrian paths. A separate committee, the Parking Appeals Panel meets monthly, or more often as needed, to hear appeals for parking and traffic violations. The Committee shall also meet prior to early registration and regular registration for each semester. The Committee will be appointed by the President or Provost and be responsible to the Vice President for Business Affairs with recommendations from the Committee on Committees.

#### Discussion:

- Attendance Policy
- Expectations
- Responsibilities/Roles
- Committee Org/Structure
- SharePoint Communication

#### V. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair

- Chair Lisa Johns
  - Vote: Ballot (Approved)
- Vice Chair Brian Jantz
  - Vote: Unanimous (Approved)

#### VI. Discussion

- Name Change / Responsibilities / Organizational Structure
  - New name is Campus Services, no longer Business Auxiliary Services
  - Dining, Parking, Transportation, Bookstore, UTSACard, Zip Car, Vending, and Catering
  - New Roles:
    - Clay Haverland AVP Campus Services
    - Burt Reynolds Director of Services
    - Hillary Klingman Director of Operations
- Updates
  - Master Plan is under review
  - No permit pricing increases
  - Additional lot construction
  - Additional financial obligation

- Construction SEB Design Stage
- Last Year Policy Changes
  - o Change enforcement policy for visitors
  - o First Citation Warning
  - Second citation \$25 or reduce parking ticket if a permit is purchased
  - Weekend Parking May park in staff A/B/Student parking spaces for free

# VII. Adjournment

> Motion to adjourn: John Shaffer

Next Planned Meetings: Wednesdays, 10/19, 11/9, 2/8, 3/8, 4/22 @10:00am