Latest campus and coronavirus information Roadrunner Roadmap

Advisory Board


Inclusive Excellence Advisory Board



To proactively and systemically address strategic issues of critical importance to develop and maintain a welcoming and inclusive campus at UTSA. The Inclusive Excellence Advisory Board (IEAB) will use nationally recognized best practices as a foundation for their work, shaping priorities based on feedback from broad, representative segments of the UTSA community. The IEAB will create additional committees, councils, and task forces to advance specific aspects of inclusive excellence as needed.

On an ongoing basis, the IEAB will:

  • Assist the Vice President for Inclusive Excellence in establishing and maintaining a framework for inclusive excellence at UTSA
  • Identify challenges and provide recommendations to UTSA’s senior leadership
  • Review and recommend changes to processes and policies as needed
  • Monitor progress of committees and report to stakeholders at regular intervals
  • Work with the Campus Climate Team to evolve campus bias incident reporting processes
  • Provide coordination and support for existing affinity groups, committees and other inclusive excellence entities at UTSA

Click for Advisory Board PDF


2020-2021 Advisory Board Meeting Schedule

• Friday, September 11, 2020 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, October 9, 2020 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, November 6, 2020 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, December 4, 2020 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, Feburary 5, 2021 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, March 12, 2021 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, April 2, 2021 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, May 7, 2021 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, June 11, 2021 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, July 9, 2021 at 10:30am-12:00pm

• Friday, August 6, 2021 at 10:30am-12:00pm


The Inclusive Excellence Advisory Board meetings are open to the UTSA community. Currently all meetings are held virtually via Teams. If you are interested in attending a meeting as a guest, please notify Cynthia Arreola, Secretary to the Board.


Carolyn Ellis, Assistant Dean, UTSA Libraries

Roger Enriquez, La Raza Faculty and Administrators

Norma Guerra, Associate Professor, COEHD

Secretary to the Board

Cynthia Arreola, Executive Assistant, Office of Inclusive Excellence


Angelica Barrera

Advising Administration

Lydia Bueno

Assistant Dean for the Honors College

Changfeng Gui

Association of Chinese Professors

Yolanda Williams

Black Faculty and Staff Association

Sylvia Esparza


JoAnn Browning

Dean of College of Engineering

Sara Oswalt

Department Chair Council

Venetta Williams

Department of Architecture

Saadet Toker-Beeson

Department of Architecture

Rene Zenteno

Department of Demography

Brian Kelley

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Pepe Change

Department of Management

Kelly Nash

Department of Physics

Myron Anderson

Vice President for Inclusive Excellence

Stella Lopez

Department of Psychology

Rebecca Anderson

Development & Alumni Programs

Melina Denton

Faculty Parents Network

Vangie Aguilera

Faculty Senate

John Phillip Santos

Honors College

Jinny Case

Institutional Research

Christine Moeller

Intercollegiate Athletics

Matthias Hofferberth

International Faculty

Cate Wengelnik

Project Manager for Inclusive Excellence

Derek Robertson

LGBTQ Faculty and Staff Association

Vanessa Kenon

University Technology Solutions

Lisa Carrington Firmin

Office of Veteran Affairs

Ashley Schneider

Graduate Assistant, Department of Psychology

Traci Guinn-Buckley

Assistant Vice President for Inclusive Excellence

Stephanie Hernandez

Graduate Research Assistant, Department of Demography

Lauren Lopez

Gradutate Student and Alumni Programs

Ana Rivera

President of Spectrum

Jason Vasquez

President's Office and University Relations

Laura Munroe

Recreation Center
Cynthia DeVaughn Research, Economic Development and Knowledge Enterprise
Courtney Balderas Staff Council
Mufaro Chitakure Student

Monica Avlia Edman

Undergraduate Student

Alicia Moreno

Student, Distinguished Presidential Scholarship

Gerald Lewis 

UTSA Police

Ambika Mathur Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate School
Rhonda Gonzales WPASA and Interim Dean COLFA

Luke Gonzalez-Ruiz

Student Government Association

Others to be determined